Montana District 2: Dale Clawson Spirit of LL Award

Honoring a Pioneer and Recognizing Great Volunteers
Dale Clawson 2
Dale Clawson

The tradition and spirit of volunteerism has long been the foundation of which the success and growth of the Little League program in Montana District 2 has relied upon.  Of the many volunteers, no one better exemplified the spirit and principles of Little League more than Dale Clawson.  Dale was a true pioneer in Montana District 2 Little League.  Since 1950, he was essential in not only helping to build the Little League programs in Missoula, but he was a leader, role model, and friend to the entire Ditrict 2 Little League Family.  His dedication and commitment to helping our youth grow to be productive citizens is the example that all those involved in youth sports should aspire to.  Following his passing in 2006, the Presidents and Officers of Montana District 2 saw it only fitting that each year, we recognize those people that give of themselves on behalf of our young athletes in the same spirit as Dale did, thus they created the "Dale Clawson Spirit of Little League Award". 

The "Dale Clawson Spirit of Little League Award" is awarded to a deserving individual every year at the annual District Conference.  The recipient is selected by the officials in the host city and honored for his or her work at the District Banquet.  The honoree is awarded an individual plaque as well as having his or her name enshrined upon the perpetual plaque that hangs proudly at Mount Sentinel Little League's Dale Clawson Complex in Missoula.  We are honored and blessed to have the opportunity to recognize and benefit from the work of Dale and these fine individuals.

Montana District 2 is proud to honor Bob and Dee Scalabrins as the 2016 recipients of the Dale Clawson Award. Bob and Dee have been Little League volunteers in Butte for decades. Bob has served as a manager, board member, and as the President of Mile High Little League, while Dee has worked by his side as a secretary, treasurer, and board member. Bob and Dee have one daughter, who played Little League and is now grown. Since Brittney has graduated from the program, Bob and Dee have remained to provide quality opportunities for the children in their communities. They have been original supporters of the Western Regional Softball Tournaments in Montana, teenage baseball programs in Butte, as well as the development of the Mile High Complex at Father Sheehan Park. Most important, they have served as role models for other Little League administrators and programs. Their countless hours have benefitted participants all across Montana. They are truly the class of Montana District 2 Little League and we are proud to honor them with this prestigious award.


2007     Ned Ellingwood - Butte              

2008     Bob Weigum, Sr. - Great Falls    

2009     Hal Karl - Missoula

2010     Joan O'Neill - Butte 

2011     Kent Seaton - Great Falls

2012     Daurine Spritzer - Missoula

2013     Mike Parent - Butte

2014     Chuck Whitmore & Zeke Zaremski - Great Falls

2015     Renny Malach, Sr. & Al Johnson - Missoula 

2016     Bob & Dee Scalabrin - Butte 



Sclabrin Clawson
Don Davis, Dee Scalabrin, Keith Miller, Ned Ellingwood, Bob Scalabrin