Young Girls Select Basketball League: Welcome

Sunday, February 18
2018-2019 YGSBL - A Look Ahead



  2018 - 2019 YGSBL Preview  

The YGSBL will continue to field a 64 team setup (16 teams per grade level for 5th, 6th, 7th & 8th grades).  Teams that played in the YGSBL in the 2017-2018 season have the first right to return to the league for the 2018-2019 season.  (example - if you were a 5th grade team in 2017-18 and played in the YGSBL, your team has the spot reserved in the 2018-19 6th grade YGSBL.  Once a team is in the YGSBL, the league organizers do not remove that team from the league unless it is requested upon by the team itself  or unless significant issues arise. It is rare that an opening occurs.  5th & 6th grade teams play at Waukesha South and 7th & 8th grade teams play at Waukesha West.  Team registration forms and other materials for the 2018-19 season will be posted on the Handouts page in late spring. The league fee is $800 per team and the registration deadline is Monday, October 1, 2018.

Game dates will be posted once they are confirmed with the Waukesha School District, typically in September.  Teams play 2 games per date with a compact rotation of: play a game - sit out a game - play a game - go home.  There are 8 game dates throughout the 16 game season - 7 regular season dates and 1 date for an end of the season league tournament that all teams qualify for.  Waukesha South historically plays on Sundays with an ocassional Saturday game date. Waukesha West typically plays Saturday afternoon/evening dates with an ocassional Sunday date.  This is a highly coveted league and rescheduling of games is not allowed.  Please do not book outside tournaments until the YGSBL League schedule is finalized.  Thank you for your interest and we look forward to another great season.


  Listed Below Are The 16 Core Teams That Comprise The YGSBL 

Therefore, These Are The Schools That Have The First Right For The 16 Spots For Incoming

5th Grade Teams In The 2017-2018 League:

 Arrowhead   •  Brookfield Central    •  Brookfield East   • Franklin 

Kettle Moraine   •  Menomonee Falls   •  Mukwonago  •  New Berlin Eisenhower          

New Berlin West   •  Oak Creek   •  Oconomowoc  •  Pewaukee  

Hamilton   •  Waukesha North   •  Waukesha South   •  Waukesha West  



   N E X T   G A M E S  

The start of the 2018-2019 YGSBL season 




  All YGSBL teams qualify for the league tournament and will play 2 games against similar seeded teams based on regular season results. 

"A Divison" Seeds 1-4, "B Divison" Seeds 5-8, "C Divison" Seeds 9-12, "D Division" Seeds 13-16. 

This format has been very popular and well liked by the coaches. It is a great way to conclude the season. 



Coaches:  Please make sure that the adult that keeps the scoresheet understands how to record running score, foul count and writes in final score.  Numerous scoesheets are not filled out and final scores not written down.  This is important to track standings for win/loss and points for/points against.  Thanks!  



Other League Options - LCGBA : 

LCGBA - Go To:


The Kettle Moraine Girls Basketball Club runs LCGBA.  See the web site above for all LCGBA information.

end of content...