Warren County Youth Baseball Softball Assoc. (Warren, PA): League News

Tuesday, April 14
Click Here For Game Schedules
**As games are rescheduled throughout the season....all updates will be found by clicking the above link.  

Fees and Age Requirements (2015 Season)


Boys T-ball (5&6)  ($40/child)   -boys who turn 5 or 6 by Dec 31, 2015 (born 2009 & 2010)

*boys and girls will play together in t-ball only.  

Boys Training (coach pitch) (7&8)  ($45/child)  -boys who turn 7 or 8 by Dec 31, 2015 (born 2007 & 2008)
Boys Minors (9&10)  ($55/child)  -boys who will turn 9 or 10 by Dec 31, 2015 (born between May 1, 2004 - Dec 31, 2006)
-boys who will turn 11 on May 1, 2015 or later, will still be considered "league age 10" and play Minors.
Boys Majors (11&12)  ($55/child)  -boys who will turn 11 or 12 by April 30, 2015 (born between May 1, 2002 - April 30, 2004)
-boys who will turn 13 on May 1, 2015 or later, will still be considered "league age 12, and play Majors. 
Boys Juniors (13&14)  ($55/child)   -boys who will turn 13 or 14 by April 30, 2015 (born between May 1, 2000 - April 30, 2002) 
-boys who will turn 15 on May 1, 2015 or later, will still be considered "league age 14" and play Juniors. 
**15-16 year olds can play Juniors, but are NOT eligible to pitch or play All-Stars. 
Girls T-ball (5&6)  ($40/child)  -Girls who have already turned 5 or 6 as of Dec 31, 2014 (born 2008 & 2009) 
*boys and girls will play together in t-ball only. 

Girls Training (coach pitch) (7&8)  ($45/child)   -Girls who have already turned 7 or 8, as of Dec 31, 2014 (born 2006 & 2007)  

Girls Minors (9&10)  ($55/child)  -Girls who have already turned 9 or 10, as of Dec 31, 2014 (born 2004 & 2005)   
Girls Majors (11&12)  ($55/child)  -Girls who have already turned 11 or 12, as of Dec 31, 2014 (born 2002 & 2003)  
Girls Juniors (13&14)  ($55/child)   -Girls who have already turned 13 or 14, as of Dec 31, 2014 (born 2000 & 2001)  
**15-16 year olds can play Juniors, but are NOT eligible to pitch or play All-Stars. 
Max Family Fee:  $115 is max fee charged for families with more than 2 players. 
Girls Age:  Little League looks at that girls age as of December 31st, 2014..."before the season starts"....and that is the age they use for the upcoming season.
Boys Age:  For T-ball, Training or First Year Minors,  Little League now looks at the age a boy will turn this upcoming year....between Jan , 2015 and Dec 31, 2015.  So....if a boy is now 4, and won't turn 5 until Dec 2015, for little leauge purposes they consider that child to be 5 for the 2015 Season and can play T-ball.
Boys Example:  With this change....there will be boys (born between May 1st, 2006 and Dec 31st, 2006) that were in their first year Training (league age 7) in 2014, but in 2015 they are now considered a first year Minors (league age 9)....essentially missing 1 full year of Training. 
Reason For Age Change:  This rule revolves around the Little League World Series.  Currently boys turning 13 after the April 30th deadline will play Majors, and you end up seeing a lot of 13 year olds playing in the LL World Series, on the smaller fields....but the new rule will eventually make it so that won't happen, and everyone playing there will be 11 or 12.  
9-year-old boys (2015):  This years "9 year old" boys will be the first group going through that will use this new age rule all the way through their little league career.  The 2015 "9 year olds" will also be the largest group coming through.  Instead of the normal 12 months worth of boys in each age group, this group will have 20 months worth of boys, because of the transition.

2015 Little League Age Charts


Warren Draft for those living in Outlying Areas
Any players from outlying areas (Sheffield, Sugar Grove, Russell, Youngsville, etc.) are welcome to play for a Warren based team, but they will have to enter the Warren Draft, like all other players.  All players in Minors, Majors and Juniors will go through a draft, conducted by coaches in that divison. During registration, please put that request in the "special request" section.   

New Age Determination Date For Baseball - affects boys age 4-9 yrs.

At the Little League® International Congress in April 2014, District Administrators and other delegates from local Little Leagues around the world voted to change the Age Determination Date for all levels of Little League Baseball to December 31 starting with the 2018 season. After receiving requests from local leagues and districts to provide a better transition for younger players, Little League worked with its volunteers, the Little League Advisory Board, and the Little League International Board of Directors Operations Committee to create a transition plan for players turning ages 5 to 9 during calendar year 2015, having the new, December 31, age determination date go into effect immediately.

To read the most recent statement from Little League on the New Age Determination Date, click here.

Refund Policy
Parents may receive a refund of a paid registration fee, minus a $10 transaction fee, until the start of practices on March 30th, 2015.  Beginning March 31st, 2015, any paid registration fees may not be refunded by the league. 

2015 Season - Board Members
Returning Board Members:

Rick Rohlin (new President), Jason Rafalski, Kari Swanson, Michelle Tremblay, Jon Sitler, Don Cummings, Jim Grosch, Bob Gustafson, Scott Chase, Matt Loomis, Jeff Berdine, Jeff Irwin, Derek Brewer

New Board Members:

Andy Teconchuk, Mark Napolitan, Mark Ordiway, Shawn Wilson, Lindsey Frailey, Aaron Stearns

Outgoing Members: (thank you for your past service)

Randie Eadie (President), Chad Betts, Darin Freeborough, Carrie Salapek, Tony Richards, Amanda Mesel

2014 Season - Board Members

Returning Board Members:

Randie Eadie, Jon Sitler, Kari Swanson, Chad Betts, Rick Rohlin, Don Cummings, Jim Grosch, Darin Freeborough, Bob Gustafson, Scott Chase, Matt Loomis, Carrie Salapek, Jason Rafalski

New Board Members:

Jeff Berdine, Jeff Irwin, Michelle Tremblay, Tony Richards, Amanda Mesel, Derek Brewer

Outgoing Members: (thank you for your past service)

Kelley Wood, Henry Borger, Kevin Hoover, Mike Wilson, Nicole Egger