Back Back to Board Total Views: 3067 - Total Replies: 2 
Print Print This Post << Previous Topic | Next Topic >> 

Back Reply to this Message BackReport Abuse Display Mode: Flat | Threaded 
  Nickname: swimseeker

Posted: 10/12/2001 12:36pm
Views:   1039
Replies: 2
  Question  Need some help with my kick  
I am just learning to swim for the first time in my life. However, I am having a real hard time mastering the kick. I have tried kick boards but I don't move at all in the water. If anyone has any suggestions on what I can do to help propell myself in the water with my kick please let me know. Right now I am all arms with no kick and it is really holding me back.

Nickname: swim1

Posted: 12/22/2001 8:14am
Views:   1013
Replies: 0
  Re: Need some help with my kick  
to help with your kick you should try using a kickboard and not to use your arms at all. Use a scissor-like motion with your legs so that you can do freestyle and backstroke. When you feel confident enough go on to the breaststroke and butterfly kicks which are a bit more harder. Also, try buying some ankle weights at your local sporting goods store and do leg-strengthening exercises at home. Furthermore, I'm on the JCC Sailfish team in Pittsburgh, PA and we use flippers a lot. These can help strengthen your legs and ankles and can also let you get the hang of kicking. You can pick them up at a specialty store (look for it in your yellow pages)or at a sporting goods store during the summer. I hope that these tips work for you and be patient! Don't get discouraged!

Nickname: rowingirl

Posted: 4/13/2002 12:27pm
Views:   1017
Replies: 0
  Happy  Re: Need some help with my kick