Raritan Valley National Adult Baseball Association: My Site News: Congratulations to the Monmouth County Thunder - Atlantic City Tournament Champions!

Monday, September 7
Congratulations to the Monmouth County Thunder - Atlantic City Tournament Champions!

Kudos to the Thunder who joined the growing list of NABA Tournament Winners from the Raritan Valley League!

The Monmouth County Thunder entered into the labor day tourney with some high expectations. To go along with their group of core players, they also brought along some crucial players in Mike Horakh and Matt Lindower who took no time at all to make themselves feel right at home. In Game 1 of pool play The Monmouth County Thunder took on the Camden Punishers. They would fall behind 4-0 for the first 6 before exploding for 11 runs in three innings with great baserunning to win game 1 11-4. Game 2 would be against the Philadephia A's. The Thunder would add runs slowly creating a 5-0 lead with big hits from Kenny Banach and Mike Collins. Marx threw a great 6 innings before making one mistake that would make it 5-5. The A's would take a 6-5 lead before Nick Franke scored in the top of the 9th on a pass ball. Then in the bottom of the ninth with the bases loaded and 1 out Mike Gerstein would hit a batter that would force in the winning run. This was controversial since the batter leaned over the plate but the umpires awarded them the bases giving the Thunder a 7-6 loss. Sunday Morning would be a must win against non-other than rival GS Senators, Mike Collins would completely silence their bats and The Thunder would cruise to a 5-1 victory once again beating the senators,  ensuring themselves a spot in the 4 team playoffs. Sunday Night would be the semi-final against the top seed 3-0 NYC Metros. Mike Gerstein would dominant the game on the Mound from start to finish never really getting himself into a jam.  Matt Wein would lead a great defensive effort with not one, but two web gems the second resulting in a key double play. It was 2-0 in the fourth when the Thunder exploded. Bruce Monro, Mike Horakh, Kenny Banach, and Matt Wein would lead the way for plenty of runs in the upcoming innings ending the game early in a 15-1 mercy. In the final the Thunder would try to avenge their only lost against the Philly A's. Nick Franke would get the important start as pitching started running out. He would go 6 solid innings allowing just 2 runs on 6 hits. The Thunder would score on a big hit by Mike Gerstein and a solo shot by Matt Lindower and would lead 3-2 after 6. The Thunder would add one more on yet another big hit by Kenny Banach, That would be all it took as Mike Gerstein worked on just 12 hour rest to pitch 3 shut out innings giving the Thunder their first championship in a 4-2 victory. Great Year. Lets keep this team together get everyone back and make some noise in 2010. Congrats Thunder. Once again great job all around this weekend and congrats on winning MVP to Mike Gerstein pitching 11 innings in 3 days allowing just 2 runs and striking out 10 and to Kenny Banach who batted .500 with 9 hits and 6 rbi's.