Brookline Black Sox: Welcome

Brookline Black Sox


Welcome to the Brookline Black Sox homepage. For game summaries, click on "B-Sox News."

Brief History:

The Brookline Black Sox are a semi-professional baseball club of the National Adult Baseball Association (NABA), competing in the Pittsburgh chapter of that organization.

The Black Sox were founded in 2003 under the name "Pittsburgh Stampeders" and competed in the NABA's inaugural season in Pittsburgh that year. Player Kenny Rayl took over ownership and management of the team following that season and renamed it as the Black Sox.

NABA-Pittsburgh expanded from four teams to eight in 2004 as the Black Sox won their first league title. The Black Sox compete in the highest league available and have earned three league championships all-time, two overall (2004 and 2006) and one at strictly AA (2010).

NABA players must be at least 18 years old. Since 2006, NABA-Pittsburgh has restricted players to using wooden bats only.



Major Team Accomplishments:

League Championships: 2004, 2006, 2010 (AA)

League Runners-Up: 2005, 2009

Postseason Tournament Runners-Up: 2010

Playoffs Appearances: 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014



Major Individual Accomplishments:

League MVPs: Kenny Rayl (2004), Matt Slavonic (2005)


League Pitchers of the Year: Nate Baumgardner (2003), Luke Demsey (2004), Matt Dalton (2006)


Championship Game/Series MVPs: Dan Stell (2004), Andy Zatman (2006)


Players in All-Star Game: 2004 (4), 2005 (6), 2006 (5), 2007 (5), 2008 (5), 2009 (5); game discontinued after 2009



1919 Chicago 'Black Sox' (our namesake)