Panhandle Christian Conference: PCC News: Wilson Award Winners and History

Wilson Award Winners and History

The Wilson Award is awarded each year to the school whose athletic department most exemplifies sportsmanship and Christian character throughout the entire sports year:

Wilson Award Winners:

2015 East: Emmanuel

2015 West: Bayshore

2014 East:  West Florida Baptist

2014 West:  Atmore, SL Jones (tie!)

2013 East: Calvary

2013 West: Aletheia

2012 East: Calvary

2012 West: Atmore 

2011 East: Gateway
2011 West: Trinitas
2010 East: Grace
2010 West
: Calvary
2009 East:
2009 West:
2008 East: Grace
2008 West: Calvary
2007 East: Grace
2007 West: Faith
2006 East: Victory
2006 West: West Florida
2005 East: Covenant
2005 West: Central

Coach Jeff Wilson passed away in June of 2005 after battling cancer for over 2 years.
Coach Wilson was honored in 2005 at the Panhandle Christian Conference annual May meeting for his many years of dedication and participation in the PCC. The Conference Sportsmanship Award "The Wilson Award" was named after him and presented to his son, Anthony. As well as being one of the Founders of the Panhandle Christian Conference, Jeff Wilson coached basketball at Calvary Christian Academy in Ft. Walton Beach for 14 years before retiring in 2003. He served as Athletic Director for 10 years and Youth Ministry Leader at Calvary Baptist Church for 17 years.

Coach Wilson will be remembered by all who knew him for his love for His Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, as well as his great personality on and off the court. Coach Wilson will forever be in the hearts and lives of all the young people that he had the opportunity to mentor, to teach, and to coach.

Take a few minutes and watch the memory video. Portions are from the devotion Jeff prepared for the PCC annual meeting. (Click on the small "video" icon below.) High speed connection may be needed.