Western Pa Hockey Scholastic Showcase : Welcome

Sunday, January 15
Pa Hockey Scholastic Showcase WPHCA Director's Cup

The Pa Hockey Scholastic Showcase Story

The Director's Cup was founded in 1996 under the direction of the Western Pennsylvania Hockey Coaches Association. The Tournament is now known as the Pa Hockey Scholastic Showcase.

The goal of the Pa Hockey Scholastic Showcase is to bring together the best Interscholastic Hockey teams in Western and now Eastern Pennsylvania to compete for one championship. In 2003, the Pa Hockey Scholastic Showcase will open its doors to Eastern Pennsylvania for the first time and to Schools across the United States and Canada in 2004.

The lore of the tournament goes back to 1996, when in one of the usual after hour post-game coaches meetings, the Penn Hills coaching staff of Tom Deery, Brian Errigo and Jerry 'Dr. Evil' Bass, and other coaches such as Dennis Shannon [Gateway] and Ron Steedle [Shaler] along with administrative gurus Al Lapiana, Paul Buckwalter and Mike Crespy came up with the idea of having a tournament at mid-season with ONE champion.

Over the years the stories of the Golden Mile as coaches feet would freeze to the rubber mats on the benches or the failure of the Zamboni starting or the waiting in the lobby as the tournament was behind schedule. Or it may have been the year Westmont-Hilltop's locker room flooded creating chaos or Kenny Vance from Canevin, a fixture at the event's early days, pitching to move the tournament so his feet didn't freeze to the stands at the far end of the rink or when a scary accident when Brian 'Brains' Errigo was struck with a puck by his own player and carted off in the ambulance and thanks to some generous work by Dr. Hank Thel of Beaver, who treated Brian and he returned to coach the next day. One of our favorite stories of Jim 'Mort' McVay firing his clipboard across the ice after a semi-final loss to Thomas Jefferson in overtime. The Showcase has survived and now has moved to the Center Ice Arena and now has moved to the BladeRunners in Harmarville.

Great performances remembered and although may not have won it it all need to be recognized. In 1996, the then 9th graders of J.B. Bittner, Louie Garritan and John Plack, who led Seton LaSalle to three straight medal round appearances. Gateway's Matt Kopaczynski's 4 consecutive Director's dozen as the tournament's top players leading Gateway to 3 Medal Round appearances. Greg Timmons and Jim McVay, in leading Canevin and Bethel Park to consecutive Director's Cup titles. And possibly the most prolific was Mike Papciak's 2002 assault on the Scholastic Showcase record books leading the Indians to a title. So many stories and some more to come !!!

Sunday, January 15
Pa Hockey Scholastic Showcase History

    The Pa Hockey Scholastic Showcase was designed to gather the top teams in the A, AA, and AAA classifications throughout Western Pennsylvania under one format to compete for the Director’s Cup.
The tournament is divisional round robin culminating in the Director’s Cup Gold Medal Championship. The proceeds from this event provide the Annual Pa Hockey Yearbook for the interscholastic hockey programs in Western Pennsylvania and the media outlets throughout the region, including the Pa Hockey Website the resource for Interscholastic Hockey in the State of Pennsylvania and throughout the USA.

Director's Cup Champions

2013 - Bethel Park over Canevin 4-2
2012 - North Allegheny over DeMatha [Maryland] 6-4

2011 - Nelson (Ontario) over Bethel Park 5-1
2010 - Canevin over Roman Catholic (EPA) 4-3 [2OT]
2009 - Loyola Gold (Illinois) over Upper St Clair 6-1
2008 - Latrobe over Seneca Valley 5-3
2007 - Bethel Park over Franklin Regional 5-2
2006 - Prairie Ridge [Illinois] over Qauker VAlley 5-1
2005 - North Allegheny Tigers over Bethel Park 4-2
2004 - North Allegheny Tigers over Bethel Park 5-1
2003 - North Allegheny Tigers over Holy Ghost Prep 3-2 [OT]
2002 - Peters Twp Indians over Franklin Regional 7-2
2001 - Bethel Park Blackhawks over Indiana 7-2
2000 - Bethel Park Blackhawks over Gateway 2-0
1999 - North Allegheny Tigers over Bethel Park 4-1
1998 - Canevin Crusaders over Thomas Jefferson 5-2
1997 - Canevin Crusaders over Plum 4-3
1996 - South Park Eagles over Seton LaSalle 5-1

R.J. Umberger Award [Most Valuable Player]
***Dedicated in 2001***

2013- Derek Lesnak - Bethel Park (2013-2014) 

2012 - Charlie Johnson - North Allegheny (2012-2013)

2011 - Aaron Gamble - Nelson (2011-2012)
2010 - Greg Precopio - Roman Catholic (2010-2011)
2009 - Nick Avino - Loyola Gold (2009-2010)
2008 - Nick Loyacona - Latrobe (2008-2009)
2007 - Chris Mandia - Bethel Park (2007-2008)
2006 - Cam Comeaux - Prairie Ridge (2006-2007)
2005 - Wes Waldschmidt - North Allegheny (2005-2006)
2004 - Garrett Waldschmidt - North Allegheny (2004-2005)
2003 - Joe Smarto - North Allegheny
2002 - Mike Papciak - Peters Twp
2001 - Justin Glock - Bethel Park
2000 - Tom Starkey & Justin Glock - Bethel Park
1999 - Matt Garman - North Allegheny
1998 - Joe Bartlett - Canevin Crusaders
1997 - Rob Garber & Marshall Scott - Canevin Crusaders
1996 - Mark Metropolous & Joe Eisner - South Park Eagles