MYBA Michigan Mustangs: Welcome

Friday, March 1


MYBA Michigan Mustangs: Welcome



Welcome to the home of the Michigan Mustangs. The Mustangs are one of the top programs in the country. In 2012, the team finished the year ranked 5th in the country by Five Star Basketball. The Mustangs won the 2012 adidas Super64 Championship in Las Vegas, NV. Point guard Derrick Walton was named tournament MVP. The Mustangs also won the Spiece Hensley Memorial Run and Slam, The Brawl For the Ball and the adidas July Travel Team Tune Up.

The Mustangs have had three NBA Lottery picks (Shane Battier, Jason Richardson and Al Horford) Six McDonalds All Americans Shane Battier, Dane Fife, Jason Richardson, Kelvin Torbert, Paul Davis, Keith Appling) and ten winners of the Hal Schramm Mr. Basketball Award. 2011 - Dwaun Anderson, Suttons Bay (Wagner); 2010 - Keith Appling, Detroit Pershing (Michigan State); 2008 - Brad Redford, Frankenmuth (Xavier);  2006 - David Kool, Grand Rapids South Christian (Western Michigan); 2005 - Wilson Chandler, Benton Harbor (DePaul);  2004 - Drew Neitzel, Wyoming Park (Michigan State) 2002 - Paul Davis, Rochester (Michigan State); 2001 - Kelvin Torbert, Flint Northwestern (Michigan State); 1999 - Jason Richardson, Saginaw Arthur Hill (Michigan State) 1998 - Dane Fife, Clarkston (Indiana) 1997 - Shane Battier, Birmingham Detroit Country Day (Duke University).

Former Mustang players that have played college or (pro) ball include:

Charlie Bell - Michigan State (Milwaukee Bucks, NBA)

Jason Richardson - Michigan State (NBA Pheonix Suns)

Mat Ishbia - Michigan State University

Lorenzo Guess - Michigan State University (Basketball & Footbal)

Chris Young - University of Michigan

Brent Darby - The Ohio State University

Charles Rogers - Michigan State Football, (Detroit Lions, NFL)

Jeremiah Mclaurin - Michigan State (Football)

Robert Brooks - Georgia Tech University

Eugene Seals - University of Miami Ohio

Greg Stempien - University of Toledo (NBDL, Europe)

Thomas Jackson - Butler (Europe)

Robert Brown - Buffalo (Europe)

Greg Grays - Penn State / University of Detroit Mercy (Europe)

 Jimmy Twyman - University of Detroit Mercy

Damon Allison - Eastern Kentucky University

Greg Lapointe - Vanderbilt University

Juan Peagus - Holy Cross

Kylo Jones - Western Michigan University

Antonio Gates - Kent State University, (San Diego Chargers, NFL) 

Antione Johnson - Albany (NY)

Brandon Edwards - Fairleigh Dickinson

Solomon Edwards - Wagner (NY) / University of Detroit Mercy

Ray Pope - Ferris State

Rodney Eddie - Ferris State

Damon Lucas - Northwood

Desmond Farmer - University of Southern California (Seattle Supersonics, NBA)

K.C. Cavette - Western Michigan University 

Rashod Kent - Rutgers University, (Houston Texans, NFL)

Onome Scott-Emaukpor - Wright State

Josh Jansen - Western Michigan University

Jason Bauer - Grand Valley

DeeAndre Hulett - College of the Sequoias (Toronto Raptors, NBA)

Dante Darling - Eastern Michigan University

Justin Hall - University of Toledo

Kelly Butler - Purdue University football (Detroit Lions, Cleveland Browns, NFL)

Kelvin Torbert - Michigan State University

Grant Mason - University of Michigan football (Pittsburgh Steelers, NFL)

Paul Haynes - Grambling State

Jeff Ferguson - University of Missouri, Wayne State University

Robert Whaley - University of Cincinatti (Utah Jazz, NBA)

Ricky Morgan - Uiversity of Nevada Las Vegas

Herb Goliday - Central Michigan University / Wayne State

Paul Davis - Michigan State University (LA Clippers, NBA)

Mekele Cooper - Saginaw Valley

Chris Grimm - Marquette University

Graham Mertz - Northwood

Kevin Nelson - Central Michigan University

Justin Blevins - Central Michigan University

Derek Van Solkema - Eastern Michigan University

Jammie Smalligan - University of West Virginia

Brandon Bell - Marquette / University of Detroit Mercy

Eddie Spencer - Central Michigan University

Dave Hoskins - Kansas State University 

Zach Everingham - University of Detroit Mercy

Justin Ingram - University of Toledo (Europe)

Kirk Walters - University of Arizona

Darnell Wilson - Canisius

Eric Giesow - Northwood Institute

Patrick Robinson - Central Michigan University (Football)

Herbert Warren - Alabama State University

Jerome Jakson - University of Michigan (Football)

Lamarr Woodley - University of Michigan Football, (Pittsburg Steelers, NFL)

Tyler Dewitt - Trinity College (IL)

Terrance Shaw - Ferris State University

Mike Reddell - Western Michigan University  

Andre Lowe - Centinary

Derrick Fracalossi - Western Michigan University

Darrin Williams - Loyola Chicago

Pete Trammell - Grand Valley

Joe Young - Canisius

Justin Sample - University of Detroit Mercy

Zack Gibson - University of Michigan

Dan Waterstradt - Rutgers / Oakland University

Al Horford - Florida, (Atlanta Hawks, NBA)

Drew Neitzel - Michigan State University (Europe)

K'len Morris - University of Michigan / Grand Valley State

David Kool - Western Michigan University

Marc Larson - Bowling Green University

David Johnson - Canisius

Larry Wright - St. John's / Oakland University

Wilbur Ampey - Grand Valley State

Jonathon Jones - Oakland University

Rick Carter - Assistant coach at University of Missouri 

Laval Lucas-Perry - Oakland University

Chase Simon - University of Detroit Mercy

Lamarcus Lowe - University of Detroit Mercy

Josh Southern - Boston College (NBADL)

Donte Molden - Ferris State University

Austin Thorton - Michigan State University 

Stacey Waters - Wayne State University

Eric Kangas - Oakland Unversity

Latrese Mushatt - Misssouri Kansas City

Brad Redford - Xavier

Demetrius Ward - Western Michigan University

Jason Washburn - University of Utah

Draymond Green - Michigan State University (Golden State Warriors  NBA)

Ian Larkin - University of Detroit Mercy

Mike Faletti - University of Detroit Mercy (Asssistant coach)

Drew Valentine - Oakland University

Matt Balkema - Eastern Michigan University

Murray Mundy - Providence College / Oakland University

Keith Appling - Michigan State University

Alex Guana - Michigan State University 

Jon Horford - University of Michigan

Devin Oliver - University of Dayton

Juwan Howard JR - Western Michigan / University of Detroit Mercy

Matt Kamieniecki - Ball State University

Russell Byrd - Michigan State University

CJ Olaniyan - Penn State University (Football) 

Dave Lamore - Cornell University

LaDonte Henton - Providence College

Dwaun Anderson - Wagner (NY) 

Trey McDonald - The Ohio State University

Mat Poaches - Oakland University

Lee Bailey - Chaminade 

Patrick Lucas Perry - University of Pennsylvania

Dominez Burnett - Davenport

Denzel Valentine - Michigan State University

Anthony Clemmons - University of Iowa

Khaliq Spicer - Kent State University

Javonte Hawkins - South Florida

Chris Harrison Docks - Western Kentucky

2013 Committments:

Monte Morris - Iowa State University

Derrick Walton Jr. - University of Michigan

Jonathon Williams - University of Toledo

Jalen Hayes - Oakland University

Josh Kozinski - Central Michigan University

Quintan Harris - Michigan Tech