Montana District 2: Bill Gianoulias Scholarship

Little League Baseball Oval
Bill Gianoulias Scholarship Honors Great Falls Little League Graduates
Bill Gianoulias
Bill Gianoulias

The Bill Gianoulias Scholarship was established in 1998 in the honor of Mr. Bill Gianoulias who dedicated more than 30 years of his life to Little League Basbeall and Softball in Montana.  Bill served as a President as well as District Adminsitrator for Montana District 2.  He was instrumental in establishing some of the first Little League Softball programs in the Western United States.  His dedication to the youth of Montana has touched the lives of many individuals.  He was also essential in the advancement of many Little League Umpires aspiring to work Regional and World Series play.  These umpires include current District Administrator Keith Miller, Assistant District Adminsitrator Hal Karl, as well as Mark Beckman, the current Executive Director of the Montana High School Association.  Bill retired as the District Adminstrator of Montana District 2 in 1998, succeeded by Renny Malach of Missoula.  Bill continues to be a strong influence in this Little League Family. 

 The Bill Gianoulias Scholarship was established in order to recognize and perpetuate his contributions to the community of Great Falls.  The scholarship is open to all boys and girls who participated in Little League Baseball or Softball in Great Falls.  High school seniors living in Great Falls are eligible to apply for the scholarship no matter what high school he or she attends.  Applicants must submit a letter of recommendation from his or her Little League Coach and are judged in the following ares:  Number of years played in Little league, Sportsmanship, and Leadership - with an emphasis on volunteerism.  The following is a list of previous winners:

1999    Ben Myers & Amy Kohm

2000    Andrea Albrecht & Jennifer Heintz

2001    Jesse Sidor & Brian Romsa

2002    Christina Wankel & Michelle Reeves

2003    Jenna Reynolds & Alex Ferguson

2004    Jessica Jensen & Bobby Anderson

2005    Paul Gysberg & Genevieve Dupuis

2006    Andrea Boysun & Staci Welgum

2007    Ashley Mahoney & Shaun Tatarka

2008    Dani Lynn Dellla Rossa & Suzie Bartram

2009    Brady Kangas

2010    Ashley Keeler

2011    Jake Olson & Tyler Meadors

2012    Destin Wassmann

2013    Dalton Cook & Jess Della Rossa 

2014    Mikaela Kynett & Cole Funseth 

2015    Drew Brennan & Marina LaRoque

2016    Jaclyn Bates

2017    Harrison Faulk

2018    Kelsey Hogan 


This year's recipients was Kelsey Hoagan. Hogan is a graduating senior from CM Russell High School in Great Falls. She plans to attend Gillette College in Wyoming on a soccer scholarship. Hogan has given back to her local leagues and her community. The Bill Gianoulias Scholarship aims to recognize not only those Little League graduates that have excelled in their sport, but those that have exemplified the Little League ideals of Character, Sportsmanship, and Leadership off of the field as well....Montana District 2 is proud of the accomplishments of this fine young lady, and we look forward to her future successes.

For more information on the Bill Gianoulias Scholarship or to make a donation, contact Danielle Funseth at 406-231-0136 or at



Kelsy Hogan
Kelsey Hogan