Michigan Metro Girls Hockey High School Hockey League: News from 2009

Friday, October 30
South 2009 Champions!!!
2009 South Champs

 The 2009 MMGHSHL State Playoffs at Eddie Edgar 

The Grosse Pointe South Lady Blue Devils beat the Ann Arbor Pioneers 3-2 at Eddie Edgar on Sunday March 15, 2009. It was a struggle that left the excited fans with dry throats on both sides of the stands, as it took South 2 OT periods to claim the state championship.

Although South dominated the shot clock in the first 11-4, the Pioneer’s Emy Guttman drew first blood unassisted in just the second shift, streaking through the defense and tucking a shot in from behind the goal. The period ended 1-0 in favor of AA.

Shots in the second were GPS 8 to AA’s 9, and shots stayed even for the balance of the game. South’s Emma Hull tied it on the powerplay at 11:08, from Erin Shook and Rae Sklarski. South’s Claire Boyle added insurance, making it 2-1 with another powerplay goal at 7:28, with Shook and Sklarski again assisting.

The Pioneers outshot South in the third 10-4. South’s Marissa Monforton almost buried the Pioneers when, shorthanded, she clanged a shot off the crossbar at 6:03. But Ann Arbor’s Angie Chronis rose to the occasion and tied the game 2-2 on a late powerplay (1:41 remaining), from Guttman and Kristina Keil.

While penalties in regulation were South 6 to AA’s 5, South spent much of the first 8 minute OT period with skaters in the box, assessed for 3 penalties (to AA’s 1). However, no scores resulted for either team. South somehow killed 59 seconds of a 5 on 3 disadvantage in the final 2 minutes of the first OT, with Ann Arbor pressing hard. Shots in the first OT were GPS 1, AA 2.

The second OT ended quickly, in the third shift, with the game winner by South’s Shannon Giannino, unassisted, at 6:22. The goal came amidst a tremendous scrum in front of the net, with bodies falling left and right. The final score was 3-2 South, with shots for the game 26-25 in South’s favor. South scored 2 PP goals on 5 opportunities, and gave up one PP goal on 8 times shorthanded. South got great defense from Hull, Lorna Burns, Andrea Marshall, Cara Monforton, and Sarah Auk. The goalies stood on their heads and played great at both ends, but South’s CJ Jarboe got better as the game wore on.


Thursday, February 25
Congratulations to Angie Chronis 2009's Miss Hockey!
2009 Miss Hockey Angie

Angie Chronis of Ann Arbor is holding the Miss Hockey 2009 trophy with her Dad/Coach Steve Chronis and Head Coach Lonnie Grantham behind her. Congratulations Angie on a great season! For 2010 she is playing for Lake Forest College who just finished in First Place (first time in school history) in the NCHA Division! Must be because of the strong Freshman class!!!  http://www.lakeforest.edu/foresters/whockey/~index.htm

Friday, October 30
Skill participants from the 2009 Event!!!
2009 Skills

Saturday, March 7
Division 2 Championship Game

Congratulations to Division 2 Champions University Liggett.

2009 Liggett 3-7

Sunday, March 8
2009 Playoff Bracket Updated 3-7-09
Handout: 2009 playoffs 3-7-09

Saturday, March 14
2009 State Final Bracket
Handout: 2009 State Final

Monday, November 2
2009 Scoring Leaders!
Michigan Metro Girls High School Hockey League
Top 20 Scoring Leaders End Of Season
Name School Games Goals Assists Points
Paige Counsman Liggett 17 30 22 52
Alexa Quinlan GP North 18 33 18 51
Shelby Kucharski Ladywood 18 37 5 42
Jenna Karagozian Walled Lake 16 29 12 41
Angie Chronis AA Pioneer 17 24 15 39
Haleigh Bolton Liggett 17 18 19 37
Maura Malone Mercy 11 24 10 34
Claire Boyle GP South 18 22 11 33
Emy Guttman AA Pioneer 17 14 18 32
Becca Champagne Northville 18 18 13 31
Erin Shook GP South 18 8 22 30
Rae Sklarski GP South 18 13 17 30
Lauren Walsh GP North 17 14 15 29
Nikki Capizzo GP North 14 10 16 26
Hannah Deacon Northville 18 8 18 26
Rachel Freeman AA Pioneer 17 11 14 25
Kristen Taylor Regina 16 15 10 25
Emann Freij Ladywood 18 6 17 23
Megan Bergeron GP North 18 5 17 22
Shannon Gianino GP South 18 8 14 22
Emma Hull GP South 18 6 16 22
Kelsey Burgess GP South 12 10 11 21
Julia Franceschi AA Pioneer 18 9 10 19
Caley Chelios Cranbrook 17 9 9 18
Taylor Moody GP North 18 6 12 18

Tuesday, November 3
All-State 2009.

2009 MMGHSHL All State Teams


First Team

Kelsey Burgess (Forward, Grosse Pointe South), Paige Counsman (Forward, University Liggett), Alexa Quinlan (Forward, Grosse Pointe North), Angie Chronis (Defense, Ann Arbor Pioneer), Lauren Walsh (Defense, Grosse Pointe North), CJ Jarboe (Goaltender, Grosse Point South) 

Second Team

Shelby Kucharski (Forward, Ladywood), Maura Malone (Forward, Mercy), Claey Chelios (Forward, Cranbrook), Alexa Lucchese (Defense, Grosse Pointe North), Sola Choi (Defense, Cranbrook), Julia King (Goaltender, Northville) 

Honorable Mention

Forwards: Haleigh Bolton (University Liggett), Claire Boyle (Grosse Pointe South), Anna Brown (Cranbrook), Nikki Capizzo (Grosse Pointe North), Becca Champagne (Northville), Emy Guttman (Ann Arbor Pioneer), Jenna Kargozian (Walled Lake) Kelsey Nikkila (Plymouth-Canton-Salem), Erin Shook (Grosse Pointe South), Rae Sklarski (Grosse Pointe South)Defense: Heather Kostowny (Northville), Morgan Ellis (University Liggett), Gwen Peck (Ann Arbor Pioneer)Goaltender: Janaya Gripper (University Liggett) 

2009 MMGHSHL All League Teams

Forwards: Jackie Buckley (Mercy), Sarah Coleman (Plymouth-Canton-Salem), Rachel Freeman (Ann Arbor Pioneer), Emily Hayes (Northville), Morgan Hodges (Regina), Emma Hull (Grosse Pointe South), Karen Malloure (Mercy), Danielle Meirow (Regina), Sydney Sakwa (Cranbrook), Kailey Sickmiller (Grosse Pointe South), Kristen Taylor (Regina), Sarah Thomas (Detroit Country Day)

Defense: Jessie Buckley (Mercy), Natalie Dulzo (Mercy), Elizabeth LaRiviere (Regina), Katelyn Meck (Northville), Taylor Moody (Grosse Pointe North), Kaitlin Gaule (Ladywood), Brittney Pasekel (Walled Lake), Kelsey Raver (Ann Arbor Pioneer), Kelly Riegler (Cranbrook), Emma Rousakis (Walled Lake), Gina Valgoi (Regina)

Goaltenders: Kelsey Erne (Regina), Colleen Jacoby (Cranbrook), Sydney Supica (Ann Arbor Pioneer), Allie Ullick (Detroit Country Day) 

2009 Academic All-State Winners (All seniors with a 3.50 GPA or above)

Ann Arbor Pioneer: Angie Chronis, Ana Gordon, Gwen Peck, Kelsey Raver

Cranbrook: Dana Cho, Hyesoo (Sola) Choi, Anna Jacob

Detroit Country Day: Sonia Havele, Sarah Thomas

Grosse Pointe North: Rebecca Gimpert, Angela Giorgio,

Grosse Pointe South: Kelsey Burgess

Ladywood: Katie Yelick

University Liggett: Janaya Gripper

Mercy: Natalie Dulzo, Rebecca Gurriero, Sophia Juncaj, Kristen Malloure, Karen Malloure, Maura Malone, Molly Malone, Katie Martel, Alessi Nehr

Northville: Becca Champagne, Danielle Collareno, Morgan McGuirk

Plymouth-Canton-Salem: Katie Rokakis

Regina: Elizabeth LaRiviere, Teresa Smith, Gina Valgoi