Little League Southeastern Region: News: Dates and Sites Announced for 2013 Southeastern Region Tournaments

Dates and Sites Announced for 2013 Southeastern Region Tournaments

WARNER ROBINS, Ga. – The dates and sites of the nine Little League® Southeastern Region Tournaments for the 2013 season were announced Wednesday by the Region Headquarters office in Warner Robins, Ga.

The 2013 slate will include the newly-created Little League Intermediate (50/70) Baseball Division. It is the first new program from Little League Baseball and Softball® since 1999. Spring Hill, Tenn. And District 3 will be the inaugural host for the Southeastern Region July 19-26.

Big League Baseball will kick off the Southeastern Region schedule with the annual tournament in Ft. Lauderdale, Fla. from July 12-19. District 21 will serve as the host for the eighth consecutive year.

The four softball region tournaments will follow the Big League and Intermediate Baseball Divisions. Big League Softball’s Region Tournament will take place in Clearwater, Fla. July 24-29. District 12 serves as the host for the fourth straight season.

The Southeastern Region Headquarters will host the Little League Softball® Region Tournament at Little League Southeast Park July 24-30. This will be the fourth year the Park will host the annual tournament after the Region office moved to Warner Robins in 2010.

Ft. Myers, Fla. will play host to both the Junior and Senior League Softball Region Tournaments July 26 to August 1. District 9 serves as the host. This will be the 13th consecutive season Ft. Myers will host the Junior League Tournament, the longest active hosting streak in the Southeastern Region. The Senior League Softball Tournament will be making its third straight appearance in Ft. Myers and District 9.

The month of August means the start of the annual Little League Baseball® Southeast Region Tournament in Warner Robins. The tournament gets underway on Aug. 1 with the championship game on Aug. 9, with the winner advancing to the Little League Baseball World Series in South Williamsport, Pa.

The final two Southeastern Region Tournaments will run from August 2-7. The Junior League Baseball Tournament will be hosted by District 7 in Greenville, S.C. for the third consecutive season. Debary, Fla. will be a first time host for the Senior League Baseball Tournament. District 19 will serve as the host.

All winners of the Southeastern Region tournaments will advance to their respective World Series.

The Little League Southeastern Region Headquarters includes an administrative building with training facilities plus Little League Southeast Park.

The Southeastern Region Headquarters serves eight states (West Virginia, Virginia, Tennessee, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Alabama and Florida) and 311,700 Little League players who comprised 20,780 teams in 2012. Little League Baseball and Softball is the world’s largest organized youth sports program, with more than 2.4 million players and one million adult volunteers in every U.S. state and scores of other countries.

Game schedules and more will be available at as the tournament start dates near.

Subscribe to this site