build a web site | fundraising | community | collect fees online | blogz
Leigh Phoenix FC
Leigh Phoenix FC  
Home Home
My Site News My Site News
Events Events
Schedules Schedules
Record Record
Locations Locations
Squad List Squad List
Stats Stats
Photos Photos
Links Links
Sponsors Sponsors
Guestbook Guestbook
Message Boards Message Boards
Gear & Apparel Gear & Apparel
Support Our Team Support Our Team
Club History Club History
League Positions League Positions
Cup Competitions Cup Competitions


Get Directions to Leigh Phoenix FCLeigh Local Weather
Leigh Phoenix FC
Hogans, Railway Road
Leigh, England

Leigh Phoenix FC are in their 6th season as a member of the Wigan & District Amateur Football League.

The team was formed in May 1994 and named Railway Rovers as their headquarters was The Railway public house in Leigh, Lancashire. They played their first 9 seasons in the Leigh & District Amateur League. The 1995/96 season saw them move headquarters to The Bridge Inn and the club name was changed to Leigh Phoenix FC. The 1996/97 season saw the club promoted to Division 1 as runners-up, and they never finished lower than fifth. The club moved to The Bridgewater Arms for their first season in Division 1.

In 1999 the club moved to The Moonraker and changed its name to that of its headquarters to start the 2000/01 season.

Season 2001/02 saw the team win their first trophy, beating Kersal Vale in the Davenport Cup Final. They also finished runners-up in Division 1 and lost the Carl Brown Memorial Trophy Final to AFC Limelight.

Season 2002/03 saw the club move to the Collier's Rest, adopting the name of its new home. The season ended without a trophy, finishing 3rd in the league and losing the Redwaters Coronation Cup Final.

The team name reverted back to Leigh Phoenix for the 2003/04 season and they finished 4th in Division 1 of the Wigan & District League. With the team now based at the Red Cat, the 2004/05 season saw the club record a league and cup double, winning the Tudor Heating Division 1 by 10 points and lifting the Dean Cup. The season involved a run of 17 consecutive league wins and the club also came runners-up in the Jim Turner Memorial 5-a-side trophy. In the club's first season in the Premier Division, we came 5th, and the team improved this to 3rd in 2006/07. The 2007/08 season saw the team have an inconsistent season, finishing 6th, although Scott Mulcrow did win the Wigan Amateur League Premier Division Player of the Year, following in the footsteps of Craig Xuereb, who won the award in 2005/06.

The team has had an inconsistent season in 2008/09 with several long-serving players leaving with many promising youngsters joining the squad. Phoenix finally finished in 10th place, securing top-flight football for another season.

For the current website, please visit

Leigh Phoenix FC
Leigh Phoenix FC
View Our Guestbook | Sign Our Guestbook
12 visitors have signed our guestbook.

  Web Sites Instruction Community
  Local Sites
Spotlight Sites
Build a Web Site
Tips and Drills
Sport Tip Email
Customer Support
News & Updates
Bulletin Boards
Camps & Clinics
Coaches' Corner

"If you don't do what's best for your body, you're the one who comes up on the short end." - Julius Erving
Copyright © 2018,, Inc
User Agreement