John F. Kennedy High School: The ROCK

rock 2018
The Stephen Rockwell Memorial Award

In 2005, Coach Sarlo dedicated an award to honor the memory of his close family friend, Stephen Rockwell.  The Stephen Rockwell Memorial Award, known as the 'ROCK' is awarded to the player who best models the principles of the Foundation of the Kennedy Eagles football program, TEAM, COMMITMENT and HARD WORK.  

The 'ROCK' makes the commitment to work hard for the success of the TEAM.  He leads with his actions not only on the playing field but also in the classroom.  Above all, he is the player who can still crack a smile and make others laugh, even after an exhausting practice or after a tough loss on game day. 


He is passionate not only about football, but about life itself.  Stephen Rockwell had those same passions.  A former football player and 1982 graduate of Kennedy, Steve was killed in a motorcycle accident in 1988.  He left us way too early, but during his time on this Earth he made such a profound impact on everyone in his life. 


One of his favorite songs was Bobby McFarrin's 1988 hit, 'Don't worry, Be happy'.  That is exactly how Steve lived his life. No matter what life threw his way, Steve never let anything or anyone bring him down.  He made everyone laugh with his wonderful sense of humor and he made everyone smile with a tremendous smile that was contagious!  The two student-athletes honored with the 2017 Stephen Rockwell Memorial Award are juniors,  Jake Desjardins and Rhakeem Henry.

As only the 2nd and 3rd juniors chosen for this honor, Jake and Rhak earned the 'Rock' by their actions on the practice and playing fields.  Putting the team first, they both made the commitment to work hard in practice every day.  Both battled through the physical aspects of the game never missing a practice and playing nearly every play on varsity gameday.


Jake and Rhak led by example off the field as well.  They are both very good students.  Rhak was inducted into the National Honor Society this spring.  We look forward to their return to the program as seniors and their hard work and dedication to the Kennedy Eagles football program.


The 'ROCK' honorees, 2005-present...

2005-Nevin Thomas

2006-Queshaun Harvin

2007-Steve Anton, Ken Fermin, James McColl

2008-Ronald Naraine

2009-Devin Myers

2010-Oscar Jean-Baptiste, Travis Johnson, Ryan Boland 

2011-Cody Colon-Dudeck

2012-Steven M. Perrone Jr. 

2013-Jake D'Alusio 

2014-Jake D'Alusio, Stanley Little, Eli Benjamin 

2015-Jordan Crosby-Williams, Bryan Garcia-Medina 

2016-Joe Schaff, JJ Cossette 

2017-Jake Desjardins, Rhakeem Henry