Castro Valley Independent Sports League: Academic Scholarships

2011 Schloarship winners

The Board of CVISL is proud to announce the winners of the 2011 Scholarship awards to two young men that exemplify what CVI is all about. Through their hard work and commitment to school, community, and the game of baseball they have earned the 2011 Scholarships.

Congratulations to Moses Kodur and Jack Holmlund our 2011 winners! 

If you see either of these guys around the ball park please take a moment to congradulate them.

The Board will present the winners their awards at the all-star game at Marshall School.


Academic Scholarship Award

Since 2001, Castro Valley Independent Sports League has provided academic scholarships for its members.  If you are a High School Senior at Castro Valley High School or any other surrounding High School and you meet the requirements below, you may apply.


Scholarship applications are accepted under the following criteria:


The player must have played at least 3 years for Castro Valley Independent Sports League. 

The applicant must posses a minimum of a 2.5 GPA for their 4 years at High School.

A recommendation from at least one of the applicant’s teacher’s is also required. 

Application must be submitted with copy of official high school transcripts.

Applicant must plan to attend any two year or four year college on a full time basis.


All applications must be postmarked no later than April 15th in the current year of the regular baseball season.


If you attend Castro Valley High School, visit the CVEF web-site to start the application process.



If you attend high school outside of Castro Valley, click on the "Handout" link at the bottom of this article to download the CVI application.


Once completed, Non-Castro Valley High School applications are to be sent to:

Castro Valley Independent Sports League

3056 Castro Valley Blvd., Box 32

Castro Valley, CA 94546

ATTN : Academic Scholarship 


All applications should include information relating to the applicant:

Which years played at CVI (Team name and/or Coaches name will be helpful as well),


Awards will be presented at the CVHS Scholarship Awards or the High School Awards of the other winner.


Questions related to this scholarship award should be directed to



Handout: 2013 Academic Scholarship

Previous Scholarship Award Winners

Listed below are the former CVI players who were awarded scholarships and the school they chose to attend.

2001Greg Jones - University of Santa Clara
           Micky Philips - UC Davis

2002 Shaun Eng -  Cal State Hayward
            Neil Owen -  Diablo Valley College

Brian Fisher -  University of Irvine
            Alex Sasser -  UC Davis

2004 Joseph Madulid -  Cal Poly State University
            Daniel Rossillon -  St. Mary's College

2007 Josh Harrison - Las Positas College

2009   Cal Holmlund -  University of Southern California
            Michael Coleman -  
San Jose State University

2010  Will Dobbins -  San Francisco State University
            Monroe Ekilah -  University of Southern California

Who will be next ????

UPDATE - Previous Scholarship Award Winners

Here is an update in regards to one of CVI's first scholarship winners.

Micky Philips co-winner of CVI's first scholarship, graduated from UC Davis in 2005 with a Genetics degree.  He also was a pitcher for the baseball team for his stay there.  After graduating he went to work for JGI laboratories in Walnut Creek and was recently accepted to USC where he is now continuing his education to obtain a PhD in Molecular Biosciences.
One of many CVIBL success stories.

Tuesday, November 6
2012 Scholorship winners

CVI is proud to announce our 2012 Scholorship winners.

Desi Bradford and Steven Veloza.

 Both Desi and Steven played for many years with CVI and were active in other CVI supported programs including snack bar help and umpiring.

We are proud of both of these students and wish them the best success as they head off to their new Colleges.

Congratulations to two great young men!