NABF NABF National Amateur Baseball Federation
About NABF Membership Tournaments Press Registration
Home : Tournaments : 2002 World Series Results
2002 World Series
2002 World Classics
NABF World Series Results
ROOKIE DIVISION (10 & Under) Baltimore, Maryland
CHAMPION:   Baltimore Buzz, Maryland
RUNNER-UP:   Cincinnati Storm, Ohio
Final Score:   Baltimore Buzz 5 , Cincinnati Storm 2

After a two and two start in the round robin schedule , the Baltimore Buzz won their next three games and defeated the Cincinnati Storm 5 to 3 to win the National Amateur Baseball Federation World Series, played at Brooklyn Park, Maryland.

With the combined pitching of Paul Burgin's four perfect innings, and strong hitting from Pat Blair ( homerun, double ) and Mike Roberta ( two doubles ) the Storm could not hold on to their 2 to 0 early lead. The World Series MVP was the Buzz first baseman Christian Wolfe with a .737 batting average for seven games. Buzz second baseman Pat Fitzgerald won the home run derby while Jason Driver took the honors in the Golden Arm contest. All teams were the guest of the Baltimore Orioles and recognized during the Kansas City A's Baltimore game at Camden Yard Stadium.

FRESHMAN DIVISION (12 & Under) Hopkinsville, Kentucky
CHAMPION:   Howard County Raiders, Maryland
RUNNER-UP:   Ohio Flames, Ohio
Final Score:   Raiders 6, Flames 1

The Raiders with a strong defense and timely hitting maintained their lead to defeat the Flames in the NABF National Championship game 6 to 1. The Raiders played thru the entire tournament without a loss behind the strong tournament performance of pitchers Josh Futter and Matt Zarin.

SOPHOMORE DIVISION (14 & Under) Joplin, Missouri
CHAMPION:   New York Giants, New York
RUNNER-UP:   Frederick Hustlers, Maryland
Final Score:   Giants 10, Hustlers 4

Nine regional teams joined host team Joplin Missouri for the first ever NABF National tournament for the 14 & Under age group held in Missouri.

JUNIOR DIVISION (16 & Under) Northville, Michigan
CHAMPION:   Maryland Orioles, Maryland
RUNNER-UP:   Indiana Bulls, Indiana
Final Score:   Orioles 11, Bulls 5

The Maryland Orioles hit, hit and scored and then scored again to win the NABF Junior Division World Series held in Northville ,Michigan In their 20 hit attack, the Maryland team jumped out to an early 5 - 1 lead over the reigning champion , Indiana Bulls. Then the Maryland Orioles continued to hit and hit and hit, scoring 6 more runs while holding the Bulls scoreless for the remainder of the game. Mike Higdon went 3 for 4 and was the tournaments MVP , hitting a .650 for the tournament, and pitching and hitting the Maryland Orioles to key victories. Ausstin Kas of the Bulls was the batting champion going 14 for 21 for a .667 average, the second highest in the Junior Division (16 & under ) tournament history.

HIGH SCHOOL DIVISION (17 & Under) Millington, Tennessee
CHAMPION:   Team Dulin '03, Tennessee
RUNNER-UP:   Apopk Baseball Club, Florida
Final Score:   Team Dulin '03 2, Apopk Baseball Club 1

Team Dulin ' 03 completed a perfect 8-0 tournament with a 2 to 1 victory over Apopka Baseball Club in the championship game to win the thirteenth NABF National Championship series. Chris Matesich of Dulin's was named M.V.P. while Josh Irvin claimed the batting championship going for 15 hits for 23 times at bat.

Senior Division (18 & Under) Welland, Ontario
CHAMPION:   Columbus Cobras, Ohio
RUNNER-UP:   Jackson 96ers , Mississippi
Final Score:   Cobras 15, Jackson 96ers 6

The Columbus cobras got their revenge and defeated the Jackson 96ers in the championship game played in Welland, Ontario after losing to them in the preliminary play 7to 3. This time the Cobras turned the tables on the heavy scoring 96ers with 15 runs. It was the most runs in a game for any one team in the series.The Cobras took the lead in the third inning . The six run inning was highlighted by, world series MVP Brian Dills two run triple and Schirtzinger,Thomas and Dill also driving in runs for the Cobras. This was the first NABF World Series hosted by Canada and well received by all teams and fans taking part in fifty-ninth annual NABF Championship Series for the eighteen and under Senior Division age group.

22 & U - College Division Springfield, Ohio
CHAMPION:   Cincinnati Stars
RUNNER-UP:   Ohio Warhawks
Final Score:   Stars 5, Warhawks 4 (10 innings)

Major Division (unlimited) Louisville, Kentucky
CHAMPION:   Springfield Giants, Ohio
RUNNER-UP:   Evansville Outlaws, Indiana
Final Score:   Giants 8, Outlaws 7 (10 innings)

The final game was a spectacular display of talent and determination between the Evansville Outlaws and the Springfield Giants as they battled thru ten innings and a rain delayed game to close out the 89th consecutive Major Division National Championship Series. In the top of the tenth inning, score tied 6 to 6, Ryan Frazier of the Outlaws cleared the fence with a solo home run to put Evansville up by a run. In the bottom of the tenth, Lance Dill of the Giants retaliated with a solo home run over the left field fence to tie the game again 7 to 7. Sam Wood singled in the final run of the game for an 8 to 7 National Championship victory. Third baseman Jake Hart of the Giants was named the series MVP and first baseman Scott Metz of the 2001 defending champion team, Chicago Clout won the batting title with a .666 batting average.

Back to top

Copyrightę 2002, National Amateur Baseball Federation Contact Us Link To Us OSSM