build a web site| fundraising| community| collect fees online| blogz
California District 31: Rule Scenarios/Quizzes  

California District 31

 
Home Home
My Site News My Site News
Calendar of Events Calendar of Events
Clinics Clinics
Locations Locations
District 31 Staff District 31 Staff
Albums Albums
Handouts Handouts
Rule Scenarios/Quizzes Rule Scenarios/Quizzes
Links Links
Sponsors Sponsors
Umpire Page Umpire Page
John W. Coffey Scholarship Award John W. Coffey Scholarship Award
Dick Budlong/Vol of Year Award Dick Budlong/Vol of Year Award
Rules Updates Rules Updates
Leagues/Point of Contact Leagues/Point of Contact
A.S.A.P. A.S.A.P.
Used Equipment Drive Used Equipment Drive
Social Media Social Media
 
Little League Home
LLB Site Finder

Admin
LLB Datacenter
Last updated
10-23-14 02:15 PM
Get Directions to California District 31Escondido Local Weather
California District 31
Larry Burch
760-746-9870
P.O. Box 301023
Escondido, California
92030-1023
Friday, January 20
Welcome to the Rules Scenarios and Quizzes webpage

Greetings,

This webpage is something new that District 31 has added this season.

Take a look at the scenario and then figure out 'your' answer

(or look it up in the rulebook), and check the answer listed to see how you did.

Some terms used in the scenarios:

BR - Batter Runner (offensive player who has just batted)
R1 - Runner at 1st base
R2 - Runner at 2nd base
R3 - Runner at 3rd base
F1 - Pitcher
F2 - Catcher
F3 - First Base Infielder
F4 - Second Base Infielder
F5 - Third Base Infielder
F6 - Shortstop
F7 - Left Field Outfielder
F8 - Center Field Outfielder
F9 - Right Field Outfielder
1B - First Base
2B - Second Base
3B - Third Base
HP - Home Plate
PU - Plate Umpire
BU - Base Umpire

 



Thursday, January 19
Rules Scenarios

January 19, 2012

The second rules session involving “Runner Beyond 1st Base” has been completed.  Items of discussion from the session are included below.

Scenario 1

Runners on 2nd and 3rd with one out.  The batter hits a deep fly ball to F8 who catches the ball for the second out.  R3 remains in contact with 3rd base until the ball is touched by F8 and then runs toward home.  R2 leaves 2nd base before the ball is first touched by the defense and advances.  F8 throws the ball to F6 who tags 2nd base before R2 is able to retouch 2nd base.  R3 touched home prior to F6 tagging 2nd base.

Is R2 safe or out?  Does R3 score?

Ruling

R2 is out (3rd out).

Rule 7.08 – A runner is out when-

(d) failing to retouch the base after a fair or foul fly ball is legally caught before that runner or the base is tagged by a fielder.  This is an APPEAL play.

This is the most common appeal play and is NOT a FORCE out.  A runner can only be “forced out” when required to advance as the result of the batter becoming a runner.  [Refer to Rule 2.00-Force Play]  Returning to a base can never result in a “force play” out.

R3’s touch of home scores a run.

Rule 4.09 – HOW A TEAM SCORES

(a)   One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three players are put out to end the inning.

EXCEPTIONS: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before touching first base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because that runner failed to touch one of the bases (appeal play).

As stated above, the out by R2 is not a force out, therefore, R3 touching home is a “time play” and in this scenario occurred before the third out was made.  The run by R3 scores.

UMPIRE MECHANICS – It is critical the plate umpire is in position to see R3 touch home and the action at 2nd base.  Timing is important and there will be a natural delay between what you see at 2nd base and the actual call by your base umpire.  In our scenario the run counts so the plate umpire will:

Point to the plate; Announce (to the scorekeeper) RUN SCORES, SCORE ONE RUN.

January 15, 2012

District 31 Staff Umpires recently held their first rules study group session.  The topic was "Batter-Runner to 1st Base."  Below are a couple of the scenarios discussed:

Rule 2.00 – BATTER-RUNNER – is a term that identifies the offensive player who has just finished a time at bat until that player is put out or until the play on which that player becomes a runner ends.

Scenario 1:  The batter hits a bounding ball toward the first base line.  F1 and F3 both move toward the ball to make a play.  F3 yields to F1 and in so doing, without possession of the ball, collides with the BR in the running lane.

Response:

[MECHANICS:  Plate Umpire call/signal THAT’S OBSTRUCTION; call TIME; Repeat THAT’S OBSTRUCTION; award the appropriate base(s).  This call will usually belong to the Plate Umpire, but a situation could arise in which U1 is in a better position to see the obstruction.  Ex: PU is locked on fair/foul and the obstruction occurs further down the line.]

RULING:  [Award the BR and any other runner the base they would have reached, in the judgment of the umpire, there had been no obstruction.]

Rule 7.06(a) - ….or if the BR is obstructed before touching first base, the ball is dead and all runners shall advance without liability to be put out, to the bases they would have reached, in the umpire’s judgment, if there had been no obstruction.

NOTE:  This is an exception to the typical “Type A” vs. “Type B” obstruction in that the BR was not being played on at the time of the obstruction.  HOWEVER, when the BR is obstructed prior to reaching 1st base the ball is immediately dead.  The BR and all other runners are awarded the appropriate base(s).

Scenario 2a:  The batter hits a fair ball within the infield and runs toward first base.  The BR overruns first base ahead of the throw, but misses the bag.  The umpire calls and signals the BR safe.

Response:

RULING: [The BR is considered to have acquired a base when he/she moves past the base.  The BR is safe.]

LL Rule Instruction Manual (RIM) Rule 2.00 RUN; Instructor Comments:  If no appeal of the runner is made, a runner is considered to have touched a base if he/she moves past the base.

RIM Rule 7.10(b) Instructor Comments – A common play that confuses many is when a throw is made to first base to retire a BR that misses first.  If the ball arrives after the BR has missed first and advanced past first, signal the runner “Safe”.  This is now an appeal play, since the runner is considered as having touched a base when they move past a base until such time he/she is appealed.

Scenario 2b:  The batter hits a fair ball within the infield and runs toward first base.  The BR overruns first base ahead of the throw, but misses the bag.  The umpire calls and signals the BR safe.  Before the BR returns to first, the defense makes a proper appeal that the BR missed first base.

Response:

RULING: [The BR is out on the appeal.]

Rule 7.10 – Any runner shall be called out on appeal if

(b) with the ball in play, while advancing or returning to a base, the runner fails to touch each base in order before said runner, or a missed base, is tagged;

RIM Rule 7.10(b) Instructor Comments – A common play that confuses many is when a throw is made to first base to retire a BR that misses first.  If the ball arrives after the BR has missed first and advanced past first, signal the runner “Safe”.  This is now an appeal play, since the runner is considered as having touched a base when they move past a base until such time he/she is appealed.

RIM Rule 2.00 RUN; Instructor Comments:  If no appeal of the runner is made, a runner is considered to have touched a base if he/she moves past the base.

**Remember the appeal must be an unmistakable act by the defense claiming a violation of the rules by the offense.



California District 31
California District 31


 
  Web Sites Instruction Community Services
  Spotlight Sites
Build a Web Site
Tips and Drills
Sports Tip Email
Customer Support
News & Updates
Blogz
Bulletin Boards
Camps & Clinics
Tournaments
Collect Fees Online
Fundraising
eteamz Buddy
Coaches' Corner

Powered By
Copyright © 2014, eteamz.com, Inc
User Agreement
"Try out your ideas by visualizing them in action." - David Seabury