build a web site| fundraising| community| collect fees online| blogz
California District 31: John W. Coffey Scholarship Award  

California District 31

Home Home
My Site News My Site News
Calendar of Events Calendar of Events
Clinics Clinics
Locations Locations
District 31 Staff District 31 Staff
Albums Albums
Handouts Handouts
Links Links
Sponsors Sponsors
Umpire Page Umpire Page
John W. Coffey Scholarship Award John W. Coffey Scholarship Award
Dick Budlong/Vol of Year Award Dick Budlong/Vol of Year Award
Rules Updates Rules Updates
Leagues/Point of Contact Leagues/Point of Contact
A.S.A.P. A.S.A.P.
Used Equipment Drive Used Equipment Drive
Social Media Social Media
Little League Home
LLB Site Finder

LLB Datacenter
Last updated
05-15-15 07:05 PM
Get Directions to California District 31Escondido Local Weather
California District 31
Larry Burch
P.O. Box 301023
Escondido, California
Brett Martin and Tom Marshall (Coffey Chair)
Saturday, July 5
2014 John Coffey Scholarship Award

     On July 2nd, 2014 at Park Dale School baseball fields of Encinitas National Little League, the John Coffey Scholarship Award recipients were announced prior to the District 31 All-star Little League (11-12 year olds) championship game. The recipients this year are Brett Martin of Poway American Little League and Bill Gee, Umpire-in-Chief of 4S Ranch Little League.

JWC pic
John Coffey
Monday, January 28
John W. Coffey Scholarship Award

John W. Coffey Scholarship Award

The John W. Coffey Award was established in 1997 by Earlene Coffey. It is presented annually to honor a volunteer umpire within District 31 who; by their effort, respect and dedication, reflect the standards established by the late, former District 31 Umpire-in-Chief, John Coffey.

Even after many, many years of service to Little League Baseball, John continued to seek improvement for himself. And whether it was by his instruction, or the example he demonstrated on the field, he was instrumental in the development of any umpire who sought his advice.

This scholarship award seeks to perpetuate the dedication, respect and commitment John epitomized each and every time he umpired a Little League Baseball game.

Honorees are selected by the Coffey Award Committee. In recognition of their accomplishment, they receive tuition to a Little League Baseball Umpire training event, as well as other gifts.

Recipient(s) are announced, and presented with a commemorative plaque, at the District 31 Majors Championship Game.



JWC pin

JWC pin
view full size
Sunday, June 29
John Coffey Fund donations

District 31 would like to express our Thanks

to the following Leagues who have donated to the

John Coffey Fund!

Escondido National Little League

Encinitas Little League

Del Mar National Little League

Escondido American Little League

Del Mar American Little League

Carmel Mountain Ranch Little League

Solana Beach Little League

4S Ranch Little League

Rancho Bernardo Little League

Encinitas National Little League

Poway American Little League 


For more information about John Coffey and the fund created in his name, click here.

If you would like to make a donation, contact Bud Mathews at

Thursday, July 11
Previous John Coffey Award recipients


1997- Kevin Slebioda (youth) Escondido Continental ----------------------------------------------------------------

1998- Mike Johnson (youth) Escondido American ----------------------------------------------------------------

1999- Steve Arce Escondido National ----------------------------------------------------------------

2000- Mike Mitchell Escondido National

Matt Arce (youth) Escondido National ----------------------------------------------------------------

2001- Robbie Koble (youth) Poway American

Mike Cascioppo (youth) Escondido Continental ----------------------------------------------------------------

2002- Bud Mathews Escondido Continental

Todd Wilkinson (youth) Escondido American ----------------------------------------------------------------

2003- Jeff Wimbrough Carmel Mt. Ranch

Mike Gonzales (youth) Escondido Continental ----------------------------------------------------------------

2004- Jim Clark Rancho Bernardo

Mike Wimbrough (youth) Carmel Mt. Ranch ----------------------------------------------------------------

2005- Tom Urbach Poway American

Tyler Bennett (youth) Escondido Continental

Nathan Hannah (youth) Escondido Continental

Mike Vaona (youth) Carmel Mt. Ranch ----------------------------------------------------------------

2006- Mike Deason Poway American

Kyre Wilcox (youth) Encinitas


2007- Bruce Courtney 4S Ranch

Ryan Walker (youth) Carmel Mt. Ranch ----------------------------------------------------------------

2008- Jeff Norton Poway American


2009- David Miller Poway American

Anthony Capito (youth) Escondido National ----------------------------------------------------------------

2010- Mike Kiesel Encinitas National

Bennett Criss (youth) Escondido American ----------------------------------------------------------------

2011- Ken Judd 4S Ranch


2012- John Tompkins Valley Center

Tyler Robbins (youth) Carmel Mountain Ranch ----------------------------------------------------------------

2013- Steven Richardson Poway National

Josh Bernstein (youth) Del Mar National ----------------------------------------------------------------


"A very prestigious award in our district. John was a great umpire and a better person. Each of us whether we knew him or not takes a little bit of him on the field each time we work." - Mark Bernstein, CA-31 Umpire Consultant

California District 31
California District 31

  Web Sites Instruction Community Services
  Spotlight Sites
Build a Web Site
Tips and Drills
Sports Tip Email
Customer Support
News & Updates
Bulletin Boards
Camps & Clinics
Collect Fees Online
eteamz Buddy
Coaches' Corner

Powered By
Copyright © 2015,, Inc
User Agreement
"Genius is the ability to reduce the complicated to the simple." - C.W. Ceran