Bear Babe Ruth: History

The Dream Takes Shape
In the fall of 1999, several individuals met to discuss a common dream, the dream of a league that could be a blessing ...

Find out more about Babe Ruth Baseball here!

Bear Babe Ruth Tournaments Winners - All seven past seasons

Thursday, August 14
Bear Babe Ruth Wins World Series Crown!!!!!!!
MARTIN, Tenn. (Aug 2008) — Jake Fraley, Eric Rowe and Hunter Gaston led the Bear Babe Ruth baseball team to the Cal Ripken Major/60 World Series title tonight with a 3-2 victory over Kennewick, Wash.

Fraley pitched a complete game, striking out 11. He allowed two runs, one of which was unearned, and six hits while walking one.

Bear scored the eventual winning run in the bottom of the fifth inning.

Rowe had a solo home run while Lonnie Funderburk also had an RBI.

Hunter Gaston continued his hitting tear, setting a World Series record with his 15th and 16th hits of the tournament. Gaston broke the record previously set by the Phillies’ Jimmy Rollins in 1991 and tied by Kasey Ko in 1999. Gaston went 2-for-3 with an RBI in the final.

DeVante Parker also had two hits for Bear.

Bear finished the tournament with a 6-1 record.

Article Courtesy of News Journal.


Thursday, April 19
2010 Cal Ripken 70' World Series participants
2010 Cal Ripken 70' World Series participants