Baseball
      Home
 
  Web Sites
      build a site
      site finder
      spotlight sites
 
  Instruction
      tips and drills
      art of catching
      pitching clinic
      workout clinic
      coaching tee ball
      sports psych
 
  Rules
      OBR rules
    - rules faq
    - rule myths
    - umpire's helper
    - rules library
      FED rules
      basic rules
 
  Community
      message boards
      announcements
 
  Resources
      sports recruiting
      ratings & rankings
      clubs & associations
      camps & clinics
      tournaments
 
Baseball  
SECOND BAT HIT RULE MYTH
The rule says the BAT cannot hit the ball a second time. When the BALL hits the bat, it is not an out. Also, when the batter is still in the box when this happens, it's treated as simply a foul ball. If the batter is out of the box and the bat is over fair territory when the second hit occurs, the batter would be out.

Rules: 6.05(h) and 7.09(b)

Submitted by: Jim Booth


< Back
Football Soccer Basketball Baseball Ice Hockey Cheerleading Softball Volleyball Lacrosse Swimming Tennis Bowling More Sports