National Small College Rugby Organization LLC: Latest News: Team and Player Recognition at NSCRO Men's National Championship

2014 Men's Heart and Soul Recipients
2014 NSCRO Heart and Soul Recipients
Wednesday, April 30
Team and Player Recognition at NSCRO Men's National Championship

NSCRO understands the importance of recognizing the accomplishments of the fine student-athletes who have worked long and hard to reach the pinacle of Small College rugby success. The following trophies and awards were presented following at the NSCRO Men's Small College National Championship, held on April 26-27 at Infinity Park, Glendale, CO, as NSCRO's way of showing how much we value these accomplishments.

Player Recognition
NSCRO "All-NSCRO Championship XV" Team
- selections were made by four former USA Eagles: Dan Lyle, Dave Hodges, Tony Flay and Dallen Stanford. NSCRO thanks them for their dedication and support of small college rugby.

Each of the 15 players received a trophy recognizing their selection as well as a custom NSCRO t-shirt (courtesy of World Rugby Shop). See below Handout for the list of the players selected.

MVP - best overall player during the event was awarded to fullback Joe Thompson of St.John's Unversity.

NSCRO "Heart & Soul" Award - a match ball was given to a player(s) on each team (as selected by the team's coaching staff), who was been an inspiration and significant contributor to the club both on and off the field. NSCRO hopes her teammates will sign in appreciation of what she has meant to the team. The recipients were:
Mount St. Mary's University = Tim Steffens
University of Denver = Jake Miller
New England College = Parry Owens
St. John's University = Tony Bauer Photo attached.

NSCRO Medals (gold, silver and bronze) were awarded to the players on the 1st, 2nd and 3rd place teams.

Team Recognition
Trophies were awarded for:
1st Place - St. John's University, Collegeville, MN. Coaches = Dan Franklin, Tammy Cowan, Mike McElroy
2nd Place - New England College, Henniker, NH. Coaches = Jeremy Treece, Rupert Leeming, Aaron Warner
3rd Place - University of Denver, Denver, CO. Coaches = Allan Wilson, Stu Halsall, Joe Moli, Jono Stephens
4th Place - Mount St. Mary's University, Emmitsburg MD. Coaches = Jay Myles, Jim Bonner, Tony Flay

Gift Certificates were generously provided by World Rugby Shop, Brad Kilpatrick, Head of Rugby as follows:
$500 - 1st Place
$250 - 2nd Place
$150 - 3rd Place
$100 - 4th Place

World Rugby Shop is proud to be an official partner of the National Small College Rugby Organization. Visit today for all of your team wear, replica, and player gear needs. - Powered by Passion

If you support Small College Rugby – then show it with NSCRO apparel found at A portion of each sales purchase goes to NSCRO.

Photos provided by Marc Williams, On the Marc Photography, as follows:
Heart & Souls Recipients (L to R): Tony Bauer (SJU), Tim Steffens (Mount St. Mary's), Jake Miller (Denver) and Parry Owens (NEC)
All-NSCRO Championship XV: Forward are standing, backs are kneeling

2014 Men's All-Championship XV
2014 All-NSCRO Championship XV
Handout: 2014 All NSCRO Championship XV