National Small College Rugby Organization LLC: Latest News: Lonestar Conference 2013-14 Preview

Monday, July 15
Lonestar Conference 2013-14 Preview

The Lonestar Conference (LSC) is a National Small College Rugby Organization (NSCRO) conference that includes the formerly D2/D3 men's collegiate rugby clubs in Texas. These teams play for a conference championship (called a "State Championship" in Texas) that qualifies two teams for a opportunity to play against the top two teams from the Eastern Rockies RFU in the NSCRO Cowboy Cup on March 22-23 hosted by the LSC; this is a regional playoff event from which the winner advances to NSCRO's PacWest Region Championship on April 5-6; the PacWest winner goes to the Small College National Championship on April 26-27. In April 2014, after the regular season is finished, the LSC teams will be afforded the opportunity to compete with other collegiate rugby teams outside of their conference in the Texas Cup. The Texas Cup is an inter-conference, round-robin series of games culminating in a championship designed to give teams that do not advance beyond their conference a post-season competition.

The LSC has two divisions, North and South, and each club plays home and away matches against opponents in the same division. The North Division includes first-year club McMurry University (Abilene), Midwestern State (Wichita Falls), the University of Dallas, Southern Methodist University (Dallas), UT-Dallas, and LeTourneau University (Longview). The South Division includes Angelo State (San Angelo), UT-San Antonio, St. Edward's University (Austin), Lamar University (Beaumont), and Texas State (San Marcos) plays their 2nd XV in the LSC for developmental purposes. 

Under the direction of Commissioner Shayne Roberson (also the coach at UTSA), the LSC enjoyed a solid 2012-2013 season. UT-Dallas and Angelo St advanced to the Cowboy Cup regional playoff only to be defeated by NSCRO heavy-weights Denver University and the Colorado School of Mines. In their first season, LeTourneau University finished a strong second place in the North Division. Additionally, a few of the men's clubs helped to establish women's clubs at their respective universities. 

So this year, the LSC adds a women's rugby division with six clubs: UT-Dallas, UT-San Antonio, Lamar, Texas Christian University (Ft Worth), Rice (Houston), and Sam Houston State (Huntsville). With the Southwest Women's Conference's four teams, this brings the total women's collegiate clubs in Texas to 10!

The LSWC clubs will play a home and away schedule that affords them some flexibility this year. All six of the LSWC clubs are either new within the past three years or newly re-formed after a hiatus. To account for travel and operational expenses, these clubs will be allowed to play their matches as XVs, 10s, or 7s, dependent on how they are able to travel and sustain numbers. While this will prevent them from competing in playoffs beyond the Conference, they will be allowed to play for a conference championship at the end of the season. 

For additional details, especially about the individual clubs in the LSC, read the full report at