National Small College Rugby Organization LLC: Latest News: NSCRO Inaugurates First Men's National Small College 7s Championship

Monday, February 4
NSCRO Inaugurates First Men's National Small College 7s Championship

Reprinted from

The National Small College Rugby Organization (NSCRO) has announced their 2013 NSCRO 7's Championship will be played in conjunction with the Collegiate Rugby Championship (CRC) at PPL Park on June 1-2, 2013. Entering its fourth year, the CRC is a joint effort supported by USA Sevens and NBC and has been aired on NBC and NBC partner networks since 2010.

The NSCRO 7's Championship match will be part of the NBC event coverage aired on National television.

"The NSCRO is very excited to be working with USA Sevens LLC in holding the National Championship event in conjunction with the CRC 7s," said NSCRO President Stephen Cohen. "With the inclusion of 7s rugby in the 2016 Summer Olympic Games, the promotion of 7s rugby for colleges is increasing throughout the country and NSCRO wants to give small colleges this opportunity previously only offered to the big name and division 1 schools."

The NSCRO 7's Championship is set to be an eight-team event. The tournament field will be determined by a series of eight regional qualifying tournaments. The eight teams participating in June will be split into two pools of four teams. The teams will then play a standard round-robin series of three games. The top two teams from each pool will then move on to play in the semifinals and championship.

The pool stage and consolation matches will be played on Saturday while the semifinals and championship game will be played on Sunday. Pool games are set to be played outside of the stadium, but the semifinals and championship will be played inside of PPL Park.

The NSCRO has appointed long-time Denver 7's President and Administrator, Howard Kent, to oversee the development of their 7's competition. Along with a 7's National Championship Committee, Kent has the ultimate goal of creating and administering the NSCRO's 7's National Playoffs.

Kent is joined in the effort by committee members Mark Hanrahan (Franciscan University), Todd Streeter (University of Wisconsin-Parkside), and Steve Hiatt (California Maritime).

Over 80 NSCRO teams have already expressed their interest in competing in the NSCRO 7's Playoffs. Administration is currently looking at various locations to hold the qualifying tournaments. Qualifying tournaments are expected to be held between April and early May 2013.

"NSCRO is very thrilled to provide an opportunity for men's small colleges to display their athletic prowess in the game of 7s rugby. Since 7s is such a different game than 15s, we feel this will open the opportunities for more and different colleges to advance into the national playoff spotlight," finished Cohen.