National Small College Rugby Organization LLC: Welcome

NSCRO Banner
Jonathan Fontz and Bill Burch of BC Productions
About NSCRO

The National Small College Rugby Organization (pronounced “N”-SCRO) was co-founded by Steve Cohen and Chip Auscavitch in 2007 to organize the Division 3 and Division 4 college rugby national playoff system. These championships have become a vital part in developing collegiate rugby in the U.S. and are now known as Small College National Championships. The best small college rugby clubs are just that and to say that they are a Division 3 club does not fully recognize their level of play, commitment to the sport and accomplishments both on and off the pitch.

There are currently over 200 men's and nearly 80 women's teams participating in local Unions and Conferences with their eye on the prize of the NSCRO Small College National Championship. NSCRO presently has National Championship for men in both 15s and 7s and for women in 15s. Clubs who want to participate in the NSCRO playoffs must be members in good standing of a local governing body in a league system, be recognized as a club sport in good standing by their college/university and members of USA Rugby.

One of NSCRO goals is to establish a "level playing field" for small colleges to compete against schools with similar resources, especially in terms of student enrollment. While there are some NSCRO playoff eligible small colleges that are capable of competing against Division 1 and 2 teams, few can sustain this level of play season after season. NSCRO absolutely encourages all colleges, regardless of their school size, to play at the highest level possible. Many clubs that have found success in past NSCRO playoffs have moved up to Division 2 and we applaud them for doing so.

Throughout this site you will find lots of helpful information, including important administrative contacts, playoff brackets, policies & procedures, etc. Please feel free to explore the site and definitely check out the "Documents" link on the left hand side. NOTE: the information shown for "Divisions/Conferences", "Teams", "Schedules" and "Standings"is not up-to-date at this time. This information can be found on the List of NSCRO Eligible Clubs and Union/Conference websites.

NSCRO is proud to be the home of small college rugby!


Handout: History of Championships

Wednesday, June 4
New England College Reigns Supreme in Small College 7s

Thursday, June 19
NSCRO News: Jace Jackson Selected as Collegiate All-American

Wednesday, June 4
NSCRO 7s News: Men's Top 15 Rankings

Wednesday, May 21
NSCRO Opens Its Doors to Social Media

Sunday, May 18
Audsley Brings International Style of Play to Occidental Rugby

Wednesday, June 4
NSCRO 7s All-Tournament Team

Wednesday, June 4
NSCRO 7s DVD Order Form

Tuesday, May 6
NSCRO News: Final Men's Top 40 Rankings

Wednesday, May 7
NSCRO's Inaugural Women’s 7s National Championship - A Big Success

Wednesday, April 30
NSCRO Men's National Championship - St. John's Repeats with Win over New England College

Wednesday, April 30
Team and Player Recognition at NSCRO Men's National Championship

Thursday, April 10
Mount St. Mary's University Rugby Club believes “None of Us Is Stronger Than All of Us”

Show Your Small College Rugby Pride - The NSCRO Store is Open

Thursday, March 20
NSCRO's Challenge Cup is Coming in 2014-15

Thursday, March 6
Earth Friendly Coffee Fundraiser

Friday, February 21
RUGBYMag Names Men's Small College Player of the Year

Friday, February 21
RUGBYMag Names Women's Small College Player of the Year

Saturday, February 8
NSCRO and Rhino Rugby USA - Dedicated to Improving Collegiate Rugby

Wednesday, January 30
Serevi Rugby Supports Small College Rugby

Thursday, January 9
World Rugby Shop and NSCRO Continue Their Partnership

Monday, December 9
NSCRO Announces Partnership with Royal Rugby Boots

Wednesday, November 27
Wayne State College Women Repeat as the Small College National Champion

Thursday, October 17
Fairmont State University Rugby Club Team Holds Annual Bone Marrow Drive

Saturday, October 5
Small College Does It Right - St. Thomas Teaches Children How to Play Rugby

Sunday, September 22
This is What Small College Rugby is All About - Eastern Conn State Serves Its Community

Friday, September 20
Rugby Safety - Don't Tough Out a Concussion

Friday, August 16
NSCRO Establishes Standard for League Standings

Friday, August 16
IMPORTANT Rugby Safety News: Brains Over Brawn - Don't "Tough Out" a Concussion

Wednesday, March 27
What NSCRO Means to the University of Southern Indiana

Tuesday, March 19
USA Rugby to Support NSCRO Championships

Thursday, March 14
NSCRO's Popularity Soars

Wednesday, January 30
NSCRO's Growth is Astonishing

Tuesday, January 8
Welcome to IRB Coaching

Monday, November 26
The NSCRO Difference

Wednesday, November 14
The Evolution of NSCRO

Monday, October 1
Small College Rugby : The Heart of Rugby

Friday, August 17
NSCRO is Now Small College Rugby....Division 3 reference is removed.