Capitol Little League, Olympia, Washington: Play of the Day

Saturday, March 15
I hope you like this - Glenn

The PLAY of the DAY will be provide by: Glenn Davis

No outs...runners on 1st and 2nd base. Umpire calls a illegal pitch and the pitcher delivers the ball to the batter. The batter hits a single to right field and all runners including the batter-runner advance. Do you enforce the illegal pitch?

Answer: Rule 8.05 PENALTY - The play stands. Leave the runners and batter runner where the are.

----------

No outs...Runners on 1st and 2nd base. Ball is hit to right field where it drops fair. The runner from 2nd base is heading home when the throw to the plate hits the on-deck batter who has wandered out to the baseline in the foot, as he is standing between 1st and home (As the umpire you don't think this was intentional). The ball goes to the backstop and the runner scores, the runner from 1st base is on 3rd base, and the batter-runner is on 2nd base. What is your call?

Answer: Rule 2.00(a) - Call out the runner attempting to score, and send the runners back to 2nd and 1st base. As the runner attempting to score has not reached home, his last legally touched base is 3rd. Therefore the runner from 1st base cannot legally occupy 3rd base until the runner in front of him has scored (which he didn't, as you called him out for the interference of his teammate).

----------

No outs...Runners on 1st and 2nd base. The batter hits an inside-the-park home run. Following the play and with the ball live, the defense appeals that both runners on base and the batter missed third as they advanced to home. Can the defense appeal all runners and the batter?

Answer: Rule 7.10(b) Approved Ruling(1)- This is a legal appeal. The umpire will rule depending on his judgement of the play.

----------

Top of the inning...1st batter. The batter is in the front of the batter's box, facing a pitcher with a slow-fast ball. The batter steps forward while swinging and has his heel on the line of the batters box and the rest of his foot on the plate and makes contact with the ball. Is the batter out?

Answer: Rule 6.03 Approved Ruling - The batter is not out for a Illegally Batted Ball. The lines of the batter's box are considered to be part of the batter's box.

----------

Top of the inning...1st batter. The batter is in the front of the batter's box, facing a pitcher with a slow-fast ball. The batter steps forward while swinging and has his foot completely outside of the batters box touching the ground and doesn't make contact with the ball. Is the batter out?

Answer: Rule 2.00 Illegally Batted Ball & 6.06(a) - The batter is not out. There has to be contact with the ball for it to be a Illegally Batted Ball

----------

Top of the inning...1st batter. The batter is in the front of the batter's box, facing a pitcher with a slow-fast ball. The batter steps forward while swinging and has his foot completely outside of the batters box touching the ground and makes contact with the ball. Is the batter out?

Answer: Rule 2.00 Illegally Batted Ball & 6.06(a) - The batter is out. If there would have been runners on base, they would return to the last base legally occupied at the time of the pitch.

----------

One out...runner on 1st base. The batter sends a line drive shot to left field. The ball bounces near the fence, and as the left fielder is reaching for the ball, the ball hits his glove and bounces over the fence. As the Umpire, what do you call?

Answer: Rule 6.08(g) - Award the runner and the batter runner 2 bases. Runner on 3rd, and batter-runner on 2nd.

----------

6th inning. The offensive team wants to use a special pinch runner for a player who has drawn a walk. The special pinch runner is a player who had already struck out in the 6th inning and is also in the line up playing short stop. Do you allow this

Answer: Rule 7.14 - If the special pinch runner is not being replaced in the line up after he struck out and before he is being used as a special pinch runner he cannot be used as the special pinch runner. Remember that Courtesy Runners are not allowed in Little League.

----------

No outs...Runner on 2nd base. The batter hits the ball between 2nd and 3rd base when the runner from 2nd base gets hit by the ball before the shortstop can make a play on the ball. The shortstop is playing deep. The defensive coach argues that it should be a double play because his infield could have turned the double play. Do you as the Umpire agree and call both the runner and the batter-runner out?

Answer: Rule 7.08(f) - One out only. When the ball strikes the runner, the ball is dead, the runner from 2nd base is out, and the batter-runner is awarded first. When a runner gets hit by a fair batted ball before it has touched or passed an infielder, the ball is dead, no runner may score, and no runners may advance unless forced to advance.

----------

No outs...Runner on 1st and 2nd base...ball hit safely to right-center field. Runner on 2nd base is obstructed rounding 3rd base, runner on 1st base had advanced beyond 2nd base. Batter-runner then interferes with the 1st baseman taking the throw. What happens now?

Answer: Rule 7.06(b) & Rule 2.00 Interference (a) - The umpire shall deal with the obstruction and then the interference, since this is the order that the infractions occurred. The umpire will award the runner from 2nd base, either 3rd base or home, whichever he thinks the runner would have made if he wasn't obstructed. The umpire shall then enforce the interference penalty, which would place the runner from 1st base at 2nd base and declare the batter-runner out for the interference.

----------

The batter bunts the ball down the 1st base line and the 1st baseman makes a play on the ball but the ball gets by the 1st baseman, then the batter-runner gets hit by the ball. Is the batter-runner out?

Answer: Rule 7.09(m) - If you as the umpire judge that no other infielder had a chance at fielding the ball and the batter-runner did not intentionally make contact with the ball, then the ball is live and in play and no out. If any other infielder, including the pitcher had the chance to make a play on the ball, the batter-runner is out and the ball is dead.

----------

No outs...no runners on. Batter hits a slow grounder to the 3rd baseman who makes no play. The batter-runner feints in an attempt to go to 2nd base and the 3rd baseman's throw to 1st base goes out of play (into dead-ball territory). Where do you put the runner?

Answer: Rule 7.05(g) Approved Ruling - The batter-runner will be awarded 3rd base. Even though the 3rd baseman's throw was the first play by an infielder, all runners (only the batter-runner in this play) have already advanced a base. Therefore, the awards are measured from the time of the throw.

----------

The batter squares around to bunt and after bunting the ball, his bat, which is still in his hand, unintentionally strikes the ball a second time while he is outside the batter's box, in fair territory. Is the batter out for the bat striking the ball a second time?

Answer: Rule 6.05(f) - You will call the batter out and the ball is dead.

----------

The batter squares around to bunt and after bunting the ball, his bat, which is still in his hand, unintentionally strikes the ball a second time while he is still in the batter's box. Is the batter out for the bat striking the ball a second time?

Answer: Rule 6.05(f) - The call will be foul ball as the batter was still in the batter's box.

----------

2 out...bases loaded. Batter hits the ball to right field. After the batter-runner rounds 1st base he runs into the 1st baseman standing in the base path just watching the ball (batter-runner could have made 2nd in umpires judgment). The runner from 3rd scores, the runner from second scores, and when the batter-runner gets in a rundown between 1st and 2nd base the runner from 1st scores. The batter-runner is tagged out after the runner from 1st base scores. As the Umpire, what is the call and what do you do with the runners?

Answer: Rule 2.00 Obstruction & 7.06(b) - The umpire shall call "That's Obstruction" when the batter-runner ran into the 1st baseman. When the batter-runner was tagged out the umpire will wait until play ceases, call "Time", "That's Obstruction", and place the batter-runner on 2nd base. Score three runs since this is a Type "B" obstruction and a delayed dead ball.

----------

The umpire sees the pitcher wearing a loose-fitted bracelet. Upon close inspection the umpire sees that the bracelet describes the pitcher's diabetic condition. Should the pitcher have to remove the bracelet?

Answer: Rule 1.11(j) - The umpire will instruct the pitcher to have the bracelet securely taped to his wrist in such a way that it is visible but does not pose a risk to other players. Medic alert bracelets are not considered jewelry.

----------

Runner on 2nd base...he advances to home plate when the batter hits safely to right field. However, the runner misses 3rd on his way to home plate. After time is called the runner attempts to return to third base before a appeal can be made. Can the runner return to 3rd base?

Answer: Rule 7.10(b)Approved Ruling(2): - The runner will be called out after a proper appeal. When the ball is dead no runner may return to touch a missed base after said runner has advanced to and touched a base beyond the missed base.

----------

One out...bases loaded. Batter hits a fly ball to deep right field for the second out. The runner on 3rd scores after the catch and the runner on second also scores after the ball is overthrown to the catcher. The runner from 1st ends up being thrown out at 3rd for the third out. The umpire observed that the runner left 3rd before the catch. Before the defense leaves the field they properly appeal that the runner from 3rd left early. Do you score the runs?

Answer: Rule 7.10(d)Note:(1) & 7.12 - The run will not score. The umpire will recognize the "fourth out". If the preceding runner is the third (in this case fourth) out, no runners following the preceding runner shall score.

----------

Runner on first...no outs...3 balls and 1 strike. The batter hits a short pop-up down the 1st base line. The 1st baseman is playing in and runs toward the foul line to make the catch. The runner who is moving toward 2nd base runs into the 1st baseman and preventing him from making the catch. Is this a out?

Answer: Rule 7.08(b) Note - Call the runner out on the interference and put the batter back in the batter's box with the count, 3 balls and 2 strikes.

----------

Runner on 1st... one out. The batter lays down a bunt down the 3rd base line close to home plate, and while running to 1st base runs 2 feet in fair territory all the way to 1s base. The catcher fields the ball and double pumps then throws over the runners head trying to get the out. The first baseman misses the throw which as the umpire you judge as a quality throw. The ball goes into right field...the runner from 1st scores...and the batter-runner is safe at 3rd on a close play. Does the play stand?

Answer: Rule 7.09(k) - Call the batter out for a running lane violation (Interference), and send the runner back to 1st base. For this play the catcher must throw to 1st base...AND...it must be a quality throw.

----------

Runner on third...no outs. The batter lays a bunt down the 1st base line...the ball rolls into foul territory and starts to roll back into fair territory. The batter on the way past the ball intentionally kicks the ball back into foul territory. Is it a foul ball because it was in foul territory when kicked?

Answer: Rule 7.09(c) - The batter is out for intentionally interfering with the ball.

----------

Runners on 1st and 2nd base...two outs. The batter hits a ground ball between the 1st and 2nd baseman and the 2nd baseman playing deep throws his glove at the ball, stopping the ball which he then picks up and throws the batter out at 1st base. Do you allow this?

Answer: Rule 7.05(c) - Award the runner 3rd base and score 2 runs. The glove must touch the ball.    This is a delayed dead ball, the batter is protected to 3rd base and may advance to home plate at that batters own peril.

----------

No outs...no count on the batter. The batter starts to swing at the pitch but then attempts to hold up on the swing or it seems that he trys to bunt the ball. The batter misses the ball. As the Umpire...What do you call the pitch?

Answer: Rule 2.00 Bunt & Strike - This call will be based entirely on the umpires judgement. As a umpire you need to be consistent on these calls. A rule that some umpires follow is that if the bat is swung so it is in front of the batter's body or ahead of it, it will be a strike. As for bunting, any movement of the bat toward the ball when the ball is over or near the plate, is a strike. Remember that the mere act of holding the bat in the strike zone is not a attempted bunt.

----------

Runner on 2nd...1 out. the catcher interferes with the batter, but he hits the ball to the 2nd baseman who throws the batter out at 1st. The 1st baseman overthrows 3rd in a attempt to retire the runner, who then scores on the overthrow. What do you do?

Answer: Rule 6.08 (c) The runner will be put back on 3rd and the batter will be given 1st base...UNLESS...the coach of the offense elects to take the result of the play, scoring the runner, and the batter is out.

----------

The batter hits a ground ball to the 3rd baseman. The throw to 1st is wide causing the 1st baseman to stretch for the catch. The ball arrives in time to make the out, but as the 1st baseman attempts to regain his balance, he drops the ball. Is the runner out?

Answer: Rule 2.00 Catch - No, the runner is not out. Attempting to regain his balance after receiving the ball would be considered part of the act of catching; and if the 1st baseman does not come up with the ball in his possesion, it will not be considered a catch.

----------

Two outs...Runner on 1st. Batter drives the ball into deep left field for extra bases. As the runner from 1st rounds 2nd he is looking at the ball and runs into the shortstop who is standing in the base path also looking at the ball (clear case of obstruction). The runner and the shortstop go down and don't get up. The batter -runner comes around 2nd base and passes the first runner and ends up on 3rd base. Is the batter-runner out for passing the preceding runner?

Answer: Rule 7.06(b) - There will be no out. The Umpire will call "Time" and impose penalties that in his judgement will nullify the act of obstruction (I would leave the batter-runner on 3rd and score the runner - make sure the runner touches 3rd on his way to the plate).

----------

No outs...runner on 1st..1 ball - 2 strikes on the batter. The batter swings at the next pitch which touches him and the runner steals 2nd. What do you do?

Answer: Rule 6.05(e) & 6.08 (b) Approved Ruling - The batter is out, the ball is dead, and the runner goes back to 1st.

----------

One out...runner on 1st. Batter hits a ball to deep left field. Runner rounds 2nd but heads back to 1st (touching 2nd base) thinking that the ball will be caught. The ball falls to the ground and the left fielder picks it up and fires the ball to 2nd before the runner can make it back. Is the runner safe since he has already touched 2nd base?

Answer: Rule 7.08(e) - The runner is out, as the force was reinstated when he retreated past second base.

----------

Bases loaded...one out. Passed ball by the catcher and the runner on 1st goes to 2nd base. Now you have both runners standing on 2nd base when the runner from 1st retreats to 1st base. Is either of the runners out?

Answer: Rule 7.08(h) - As long as the runner from 1st did not pass the runner in front of him, there will be no out. On another note; if two runners are touching the same base the following runner shall be out when tagged. The preceding runner is entitled to the base (Rule 7.03).

----------

Runners on 1st and 2nd...1 out...Batter hits a ground ball to the 3rd baseman. 3rd baseman fields ball...runs and touches 3rd base then throws to 1st trying for the double play. The ball goes over the 1st basemans head and out of the playing field (dead ball). The runner from 1st was at 2nd base before the throw was made from 3rd to 1st (fast runner). Where do you place the runners?

Answer: Rule 7.05(g) - Because it was NOT the first play by the infielder the umpire shall be governed by the position of the runners when the wild throw was made. Award two bases...the runner from 1st - Home (score the run), and the batter-runner 2nd base.

----------

Runner on 2nd...the catcher reaches and tips the bat...the batter swings and misses. What's the call?

Answer: Interference...Rule 6.08(c) - ...the catcher interfered with the batter. Award the batter first base. Runner stays at 2nd base.

----------

Runner on 1st...2 outs. Batter hits a high fly ball to the 2nd baseman. While advancing to 2nd the runner passes in front of the 2nd baseman attempting to field the ball and yells trying to distract the fielder. The 2nd baseman drops the ball. What do you do?

Answer: Runner is Out...Rule 7.08(b) - ...Intentionally interferes with a thrown ball: or hinders a fielder attempting to make a play on a batted ball.

----------

Runner on 1st...ball hit to right-center field. The runner on 1st is coming into 2nd base and the 2nd baseman, who does not have the ball fakes a tag causing the runner to slide. As the Umpire - What do you do?

Answer: Obstruction...Rule 7.06(b) - The umpire shall call or signal "Obstruction". Since no play was being made on the runner this is a "Type B" Obstruction. Let the play finish, call "Time", and impose such penalties, if any, as in your judgement will nullify the act of obstruction. (If you feel the runner would have made 3rd, give it to him, if not, leave the runner at second.)

----------

No outs...runners on 1st and 2nd. Batter hits a fly ball toward 2nd base...the Umpires declare "Infield Fly" and the runner on 2nd maintains contact with the base and avoids the shortstop trying to field the ball...BUT the runner gets hit by the ball. Is this a Double Play?

Answer: No...Rule 7.08 Exception - If a runner is touching a base when touched by a Infield Fly, that runner is not out, although the batter is out.

----------

The batter swings and hits a high bounding ball down the 3rd base line...the 3rd baseman comes in to field the ball a few feet in front of the bag...both of his feet are in fair territory as he reaches across the foul line into foul territory to field the ball. Is this a Fair or Foul Ball?

Answer: No...Rule 2.00 Foul Ball (note 1) - It is a foul ball. Fair or foul is determined by the position of the ball...not the position of the fielder.

----------

Runner on 1st...no outs...batter hits a fly ball to left field. As the ball hits the left fielders glove, the runner tags and breaks for 2nd...the ball is juggled but the center fielder makes the catch before the ball touches the ground. The defensive team appeals that the runner left before the ball was caught. Is the Runner Out for Leaving Too Early?

Answer: No...Rule 2.00 Catch - The runner may tag up and advance the instant the first fielder touches the ball.

----------

One out...runners on 1st and 2nd...batter hits a double to left field. Runner from 2nd scores but the runner from 1st is thrown out at the plate. The batter advances to 2nd safely but is declared out on appeal for missing 1st base. Does the run score?

Answer: No...Rule 4.09(a) - The Run Does not Score!!!The runner crossed the plate on a play in which the batter-runner made the 3rd out before he touched 1st base.

----------

Bases loaded...no outs. The batter bounces a double play ball toward the shortstop. The runner on 2nd throws his helmet at the ball and touches it. Despite the helmet hitting the ball...the shortstop catches the ball and starts a successful double play. Since the double pay was completed the play stands. True or False?

Answer: False...Rule 7.09(g) - Once the runner deliberately interferes...time will be called...the runner and the batter-runner are declared OUT. All other runners return, the play does NOT stand.

----------

Player #2 is batting out of order...in order to avoid protests, it is the duty of the official scorer to call it to the attention of the Umpire. True or False?

Answer: False...Rule 6.07 Approved Rulings (Note) - The umpire and scorekeeper shall not direct the attention of any person to the presence in the batter's box of an improper batter. The defensive team is required to appeal to the umpire if they suspect a batter is out of turn.

----------

Runner on 1st...batter hits a fair ball down the 3rd base line...Runner on the way to 3rd realizes he is not going to make it retreats to 2nd only to find the batter-runner on the base. The defense tags both runners. Umpire rules the batter-runner out. True or False?

Answer: True...Rule 7.03 - The batter-runner (following runner) is not entitled to 2nd base, only the lead runner is entitled to the base.

----------

With a fast runner on 1st base...the batter hits a slow ground ball to the shortstop who overthrows the 1st baseman. The ball goes out of play (into a dead ball area)...prior to the release of the throw the runner had touched 2nd. The umpire awards the runners 2nd and home. True or False?

Answer: False...Rule 7.05(g) - The first play by an infielder requires an award of bases from where the runners were at the time of the pitch.

----------

The ball is alive and runners may advance at their own risk when a fair batted ball touches a runner or an umpire on fair territory before it touches an infielder including the pitcher or touches an umpire before it has passed an infielder other than the pitcher. True or False?

Answer: False...Rule 5.09(f) - The ball is dead as soon as it hits the runner or umpire before passing a infielder.

----------

Runner on 1st...improper batter is up. The runner goes to 2nd on a wild pitch ...the improper then hits a line drive (not caught) to center field to score the runner from 2nd base. /the defensive manager properly appeals the batting out of order...the Umpire upholds the appeal. What Should the Umpire Do?

Answer: Rule 6.07(b) - Declare the proper batter out...and the runner will go back to 2nd. Runners advance to 2nd on the wild pitch is legal...But his advance on the base hit is nullified.

----------

3 balls...1 strike...1 out. The pitcher throws a fastball into the dirt. It hits off the catcher's shin guard and rolls into the dugout. The offensive manager argues that the batter should be awarded second base since he would have gotten first on ball four. Is This Correct?

Answer: NO...Rule 7.05(h) - the batter must remain at first. A pitched ball that goes into a dugout is ruled dead and the award is one base.