Bound Brook Wrestling: Welcome



Glasgow wins Wyoming Cowboy Open

      Many former Bound Brook wrestlers began the college wrestling season these past two weeks and two won titles. 

        SEAN GLASGOW- Won the Amatuer division of the Wyoming Cowboy Open at 157 Lbs. for Chadron State with a 4-0 record on the day. Included in those four wins were two major decisions and defeated Landon Knutzen of Grand Valley State in the finals by a 5-3.

        ZACH VATALARE- Won the Fall Brawl while also wrestling 157 Lbs. for the University of Michigan wrestling club. He had a dominating day with two tech falls and major decision.

        ROB MURRAY- Rob placed fourth for Stevens  with a 4-2 record at the Ithaca Tournament at 125 Lbs.  Rob had two tech falls and a decision before falling to Bobby Jordan  of Johnson and Wales and formally Woodbridge High School by a 5-4 score. He then fell in the third place match to Ferdinand Mase of Ithaca, who defeated prior in the tournament.

       ANDREW GOMBAS- Was 2-2 on the Kings College Open for the University of Scranton at 174 Lbs. His loss placing out of the tournament was to Pete Hillburn of Rogers Williams and formally of Roselle Park High School.

       TYLER AWTRY- Tyler wrestled in the Souteast Open unattached at 133 Lbs. and had a 1-2 record on the day. His most outstanding accomplishment was beating a wrestler with a monster mullet. 

2016-17 Preliminary High Schedule Posted

      A varied schedule with wrestling in multiple States wil confront the high school wrestling team this upcoming season. Some of the old friends return with Crusaders returning to the Powerade in Canonsburg, Pennsylvania as well as a new competition called the Wrangle in the Plains in scenic Schenectady, New York. This tournament will offer top notch competition for our best wrestlers while another tournament will offer our lesser wrestlers the appropriate level of competition.

       Another new and exciting competition will be the South Jersey Duals at Kingsway high school two days before Christmas. The Crusaders could face great teams like Delbarton, Delsea, Southern Regional and Don Bosco in this one day competition. A final fun note will be the Crusaders being the first match in the "new pit" at Phillisburg right after the New Year.

      As usual there may be more matches posted later which we will post as soon as we know that information. The schedule can be accessed by highlighting the label on the left which says 'Schedule'.


Glasgow to compete at Rutgers

       Stephan Glasgow's hometown school came calling and he couldn't say no, as he accepted a full scholarship from Rutgers University. Stephan hopes to add to their All American count which jumped by a number of two last season when Anthony Ashnault and Frank Perotti each obtaining All American status.

        Congrats Stephan and good luck on the banks of the Raritan! 


Walton accepts scholarship from Old Dominion

       By all accounts it was a good week for  George Walton. After placing second at the invite only Journeyman Tournament and being ranked 20th in the Country at 170 Lbs. by Flowrestling, he accepted a scholarship to Old Dominion to continue his education and wrestling career.

        George is the first Bound Brook wrestler to become a Monarch who are coached by Steve Martin and have had five All Americans in the last five years, including St. Peter's grad Lenny Richardson. They compete in the Mid America Conference and two years ago they were ranked 22nd in the Nation.  

         By the way, their nickname the Monarch's refers to the King of the Jungle Lion, so Roar George Roar! 

Lewis to be a Hokie

       Mekhi Lewis, became the first of Bound Brook's outstanding senior wrestlers to commit to his next step in his educational process on Wednesday night when he decided continue his wrestling and educational career at Virginia Tech and Coach Kevin Dresser. The Hokies have been getting better and better every year under Dresser and scored a impressive six All Americans at the NCAA Tournament this past March along with a third place team finish.

         Mekhi joins a long list of Bound Brook wrestlers who competed for the Hokies which includes Bound Brook's first State Champion William Zydiak, State runner-up Nick Murray and current Hokie senior Tyler Awtry. Zydiak was undefeated for Tech which of course at the time was known as VPI.

         Congratulations Mek on your accomplishment as it is well deserved.